HIS241H5: Nineteenth-Century European History

Modules in the U.K. Parliamentary Papers
— House of Commons 18th Century
— House of Commons 19th Century
— Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833-1918
— House of Commons 20th Century
— House of Commons 21st Century (3 parts)
— — Module 1 (2005-2010), Module 2 (2010-2015), and Module 3 (2015-2022)
— House of Lords, 1800-1910
— Hansard (Official Report), 1803-2005

— British Empire Studies
— United Kingdom (Constitutional, Legislative, Judicial, Treaties & Arbitrations, etc.)
— Other Countries (e.g., France, Germany, and Spain)

The collection consists of a digital collection of historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes from around the world, focusing on France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Canada, Argentina, Mexico, India, South Africa, Australia, and so forth.
It includes International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law.

The collection is organized into separate units of British and American Treatises, enabling users to trace the evolution of modern law in Great Britain, Ireland, and the United States.
The monographs and materials in Legal Treatises include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

[JSTOR] Both collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. The Colonial Office Collection is chiefly comprised of pamphlets sent back from Britain's colonies, including some unique early material from Australasia.

Describes the courtroom dramas that gripped American society, the British Empire, and the world.
In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland and Canada, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included.

It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

[Adam Matthew]
The Biographies page may be helpful if you are interested in finding information on:
• Europeans imperialist living abroad
• denizens of a large European city in the late nineteenth-century

PERIOD COVERED: Late 15th to early 21st century
— Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969
— Section II: Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire
— Section III: The Visible Empire
— Section IV: Religion & Empire
— Section V: Race, Class, Colonialism, Imperialism
With primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives, Empire Online provides documents from Africa, India and North America.

[Taylor & Francis] Collection of documents on British history.
— Volume VIII, 1783–1832
— Volume IX, 1833–1874
— Volume X, 1874–1914

PERIOD COVERED: mid- 15th to early 20th Century (1920)
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material to enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

THEMATIC AREAS: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, the Body

PERIOD COVERED: 1650 - 1920

Experience settlements across the various frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Explore documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people in these regions alongside the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples.

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Overall, the collection contains more than 4,500 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543 to 1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist.
Titles include English, German, French, and Dutch monographs.

PERIOD COVERED: 19th and early 20th centuries
The topics focus on working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police and criminality.

It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: 1450–1850 the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism
PART II: 1851–1914 a range of materials include, but not limited to, local reports, broad overviews, abstract analyses, reports on the financing of railways, economic textbooks, social polemics, and political speeches. Topics range from 19th-century banking history and economic systems to social reform, debates over currency format, the increased interest in theories of valuation and the emerging issue of foreign exchange rates.

— Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
— British Politics and Society
— British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
— Children's Literature and Childhood
— Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
— European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
— Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
— Photography: The World through the Lens
— Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
— Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
— Women: Transnational Networks

PERIOD COVERED: 1800-1900
This digital resource documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty.

PERIOD COVERED: 1662/1740–1960
— Aristocratic Women
— Colonial Discourses: Series One
— International Women’s Suffrage: Part One
— Women, Emancipation and Literature
— Women, Morality and Advice Literature
— Women’s Autobiographies
— Women’s Journals of the Nineteenth Century: Part One

– Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
– Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
– Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
– Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
– Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
– Manchester Selected Pamphlets (1799-1900)
– Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
– Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
– Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)

PERIOD COVERED: 17th - 19th century
This collection consists of writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters: e.g.,
— An account of a duel, court martials and of the murder of a servant
— Papers of Andrew Hunter, coffee planter, 1860-1870
— Illustrated accounts of tea-planting in India, 1780-1855
— Discussions of Indian Nationalism in the 1930s (Correspondence of Patrick Geddes, 1892-1931)

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the 17th century through to the early 21st, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

This collection has added:
— PART I: 1800–1900
Newspapers originating in England, Scotland, and Ireland
— PART II: 1800–1900
Newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, and North Wales.
— PART III, 1741–1950
— PART IV, 1732–1950
Local and regional perspectives from towns as geographically diverse as Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York
— PART V: 1780–1950
Newspapers from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more.

Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure/Sport
Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary, and Colonial

— Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
— British Politics and Society
— British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
— Children's Literature and Childhood
— Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
— European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
— Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
— Photography: The World through the Lens
— Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
— Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
— Women: Transnational Networks

With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events – including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science. For example,
― Military History: War artists were sent to cover the 1848 revolution in France, the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the Boer War, and World Wars I and II
― Politics: Fine illustrations chronicle the great statesmen of the Victorian era, including Peel, Wellington , Palmerston, Disraeli, and Gladstone and their cabinets. The ILN also documents the major players during the two world wars and the years in between
― Social History: Illustrated coverage of servants, female suffrage, strikes, homes, crime, leisure, emigration, and religion

Over 8,000 issues will provide:
— Editorials, news, commentary and letters that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs
— Country reports, industry reports, supplements, and surveys that offer the ability to track regional trends and forecasts.
— Special surveys and supplements on countries and industries that offer perspectives on markets and geographies

PERIOD COVERED: 1558 - 1945
The collection spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

[Oxford University]
EE includes edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
The topics of letters vary: for example, art & literature, birth, death & marriages, business & economics, diplomacy & current affairs, educational & cultural institutions, food & drink, health, hygiene & medicine, law & politics, maths & geometry, philosophy & theology, and so forth.

With these words, the 13-year old Princess Victoria of Kent began the first volume of her Journal, or detailed diary, in 1832, thus starting a habit that would last for the rest of her life, until her death in 1901, by which time she was known to the whole world as Queen Victoria, ruler of a quarter of the world.

PERIOD COVERED: 1835–1976
Places visited include: USA and Canada; China, Japan and the Philippines; Europe (very well documented); Russia; Africa; and Australia.
The collection includes:
— Elizabeth Cary Agassiz’s scientific and cultural explorations of Brazil in the 1860s.
— Travel to countries within the British, French, Chinese and American empires and discussion of empire and nationalism, as well as the post-colonial world.

The collection (c. 1660-1900) offers facsimile images of literary manuscripts — including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, essay, and journals from the Restoration through the Victorian era.

[University of Chicago] At present, ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.
The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Click searchable database of text-reuses to search.

PERIOD COVERED: 1768 - 1903
The collection includes:
— Explore William Wordsworth’s original verse manuscripts, working notebooks and some printed, annotated, editions.
— View over two thousand fine art pieces from celebrated artists such as John Constable, J.M.W. Turner, Thomas Gainsborough, Benjamin Robert Haydon and John Ruskin.

PERIOD COVERED: 19th Century
The collection includes:
— Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s two ­part diary from 1832, plus four notebooks containing working drafts of poems from 1843.
— Charles Dickens’ correspondence to Mrs Gaskell, Edgar Allan Poe, Leigh Hunt, George Lewes and many others.
— Bound holograph manuscript of Hardy’s The Three Strangers.