Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HIS241H5: Nineteenth-Century European History

A guide to assist students with research for assignments in HIS241 on the UTM campus.

Using Oxford Bibliographies to Find Primary/Secondary Sources

Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID:

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:35 -- Simple Search
2:46 -- India 'Mutiny' and 'Revolution,' 1857-1858 (entry) as an example
4:34 -- Finding Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
8:23 -- Get Help

Biography

These collections can provide valuable information about key figures in history. Many entries will list sources for the individual and identify key works written by the person. Once you can identify the title of a publication, you can search in the UTL catalogue or primary source text collections.

Reference Sources

Use these collections to gather background information and lists of recommended sources. If you have key titles for a topic or identify key works, then you can search in the UTL catalogue to locate this material.

Origin of Words

You may find this source useful when working with primary source documents. The meaning of words can evolve over time.

Very Short Introductions