Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HIS241H5: Nineteenth-Century European History

A guide to assist students with research for assignments in HIS241 on the UTM campus.

☆ Use Bibliographies ☆

To find quality resources for your paper, it is useful to use bibliographies of scholarly books and articles.

Bibliography in scholarly publications is a list of books, articles, and other references that authors have used in preparing their publications/research. The alternative name to Bibliography can be References, Selected Readings, Works Cited, etc. The list consists of primary and secondary, published and unpublished, manuscripts, letters, papers, archives, and so forth. Look at the list of references in your textbooks and assigned course readings.

Footnotes in books and journal articles may to the sources used by the author to support the discussion in the publication. Search for them in the UT LibrarySearch.

Reference sources may contain citations to other publications and/or primary material. Look under the Background Information tab. For example, Oxford Bibliographies Online has annotated bibliographies complied by scholars in the field. Identify the useful titles, then search for them in the UT LibrarySearch.

Suggested E-Book Platforms

The UT LibrarySearch allows us to search and find print and electronic books, including books published by Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Routledge. You can also go to their online libraries to find their e-books: For example,

For the complete list of e-book platforms and collections, visit the Ebook platforms and collections page.

How to Find and Download Ebooks (YouTube Videos)

How to Find and Download an Ebook in LibrarySearch

How to Find and Download Readings from the ProQuest Ebook Central Platform

How to Find a Print Copy