Black Studies Center
An extensive online library and archive that provides access to scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and other publications on Black history, culture, and politics.
Black Women Writers
An exhaustive digital collection of literature and essays that focuses on feminist issues, highlighting the experiences of Black women from Africa and the African diaspora.
Facing both sexism and racism, Black women forged their own identities and movements. The collection meticulously documents their efforts, offering a woman's perspective on the rich diversity and development of Black communities, and specifically tracing the evolution of Black feminism.
Literature Criticism Online: Literature of the Harlem Renaissance
An extensive introduction to the Harlem Renaissance as a a major cultural movement. It is accompanied by a detailed critical bibliography.
Literature Resource Center
An online library which includes scholarly journal articles and book chapters focussed on literary criticism and interpretation of the novels, plays, and poetry of the Harlem Renaissance.
MLA International Bibliography
The most comprehensive onine bibliography of books and articles on authors and their works, many of which are peer-reviewed.
This course requires you to search a number of major research resources in various disciplines to find sources related to the topic of your essay. Additional resources for other disciplines are also available on the University of Toronto Libraries' website:
Lead image: Zora Neale Hurston (3 April 1938), gelatin silver print. Library of Congress (LC-DIG-van-5a52142).