Research Guides: CHM499: Introduction to Chemistry Research: Searching for Patents

Searching for Patents

There are many resources that you can use to search for patent information. Review the excellent guide below from Queen's University to learn more about patents and designs.

Queens Library: Patents and Designs
An extensive research guide providing information and resources on how to search for, read, and write patents.
Canadian Patent Act
For a more information on patent law in Canada, refer to the Canadian Patent Act.

See below for databases, books, and resources specific to patents in chemistry.

SciFinder-n Patent Pack
Use "Patent Identifier" in SciFinder-n to access the "Patent Pack" dropdown for your results. This provides annotated versions of each patent, highlighting the important chemistry information. Review how to use Patent Pack to more efficiently search for and read patents within SciFinder-n.
SureChEMBL
SureChEMBL is a public chemical patent database with an international patent collection provided by IFI Claims. It indexes compounds extracted from the full text, images, and attachments of patent documents from over 90 countries.
What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents
The fourth edition guide published by the American Chemical Society providing a condensed overview of patents in chemistry.

Patents for chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and biotechnology
An introduction to patent law and practice, providing information on the legal and procedural details of the British, European, Japanese, and United States patent systems.
The Chemist's Companion Guide to Patent Law
Provides information that students or working chemists need to know about patentability. This book explains important concepts of patent law in easy-to-understand terms.
Intellectual Property in Chemistry
Written for undergraduate and graduate students, this book provides detailed instructions for reading and writing a patent.

Patent and Trademark Offices

Canadian Patents Database (CIPO)
Canadian patent records from 1869 and full-text documents from 1920 to the present.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
US patents from 1790, full-text available from 1976 to the present.
European Patent Office (EPO)
Espacenet: International patent database.
World Intellectual Property Office
WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation.

Research Guides

CHM499: Introduction to Chemistry Research

Searching for Patents

Patent and Trademark Offices

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us