Research guides: MScSM @ UTM: Finding Industry & Market Research

BLOOMBERG INTELLIGENCE (BI)

Bloomberg Intelligence covers more than 200 industries. It offers:

Independent, in-depth industry research by Bloomberg analysts, updated on an ongoing basis
Proprietary and third-party data, including market share, sales and other hard-to-find data for companies within an industry
Shortcuts to industry news and comps

Type BI in the search bar to access Bloomberg Intelligence. Use the menu to drill down to your industry and a dashboard specific to that industry will load. Alternatively, search for a keyword; results will be grouped by 'Research' or 'Data'.

Within an industry dashboard, there are three sections:

Research: Click on 'Industry' to see briefings and insights on key themes or trends within a given industry.
- Many of the graphs and tables in these reports can be downloaded separately or link to other Bloomberg applications
Data Library: This will include market share, macro economic and non-economic drivers, industry-specific data, cost data and more.
Monitor: This includes links to industry news and research reports ('News/Research') and comparative data for key industry players ('Comp charts')

Bloomberg is also an excellent source of news about industries. News can be accessed through the Monitor section of a dashboard or by using the command N (general news) or NI + 'subject', e.g NI automotive.

Bloomberg is normally only available in the FLC on our three terminals. To request an account, please contact utm.lkcflc@utoronto.ca

Other Databases for Industry & Market Research

Frost & Sullivan
Frost & Sullivan provides access to international market and technology research and analysis in 15 major sectors including Energy & Power Systems and Environment & Building Technologies, with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies. Use the filters on the right-hand side to limit by geography or sector. Useful report types include the Mega Trends series, Outlooks or Forecasts, and Growth Opportunities series.

Reports can be viewed online but are NOT available for download by students. Please contact the Frost & Sullivan representative referenced in the database to request full PDF versions of selected reports. Alternatively, cut and paste selected content or take screenshots.
Gartner
Garter offers technology-focused analysis, insights and forecasts for multiple industries - including manufacturers and service providers. Use the Advanced Search option to filter by industry. Look for Hype Cycle, Cool Vendor, Market Analysis and other reports.

NOTE: Not all reports are available through the University's subscription. Try searching for report titles on the Web to find free downloads or charts or extracts for those reports not available in full-text in the database.
IBISWorld
Offers traditional and specialized industry reports for Canada and US. Includes global reports as well. Reports include key drivers, cost structure, business counts, outlook, industry ratios for benchmarking. Look aon the first page of each report for additional resources for further research.

Reports can be downloaded as PDFs; selected tables found in the 'Key Statistics' section can be downloaded as .XLS.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of more than 20 industries, with focus on consumer products and services, including reports, statistics and visualization tools. Includes consumer data and packaging and ingredients information. Reports updated annually.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A web-based data visualization application to create simple thematic maps and tables from census and other socio-demographic data, as well as business point data.

CB Insights
Tracks venture capital deals, investors, and funded companies from seed funding through to exit. Also includes industry analytics by sector, industry and geography, and premium research reports. Global with US emphasis.

Sign-up for a free account using your UofT email address in order to access the database.
Mergent Investext
Now available on the Mergent Online platform, Investext offers investment research and other third-party research reports for both companies and industries. Contributors include JP Morgan, Credit Suisse, HSBC, and other major investment banks and boutique firms. Also included are company profiles from GlobalData and MarketLine, that include SWOT analyses.

Select the 'Investext' menu tab on the far-right to search for these reports. The default timeframe to be searched is 12 months. Select 'Keywords' to search for a topic such as 5G and then select 'Industry Reports' as 'Report Style'. Entire reports can be downloaded as PDFs.
eMarketer PRO
eMarketer PRO contains analysis and data on mobile, video, digital marketing, social media, e-commerce, and more. Includes coverage by sector. Many topics have Canadian data and insights associated with them.

Click on individual charts or graphs to download these in .JPEG, .PDF and .XLS.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Focuses on news and analysis for developing or emerging markets. Includes country, regional and global industry reports for these regions. Useful report providers include Budde Communications, Fitch, BIS, and MarketLine.

To access the database, click on the blue 'Client Login' link in the upper right-hand corner of the welcome screen and select 'All subscriptions' to search. Type in your keyword(s) in the search box and click on 'Industry' immediately above your search results to filter for industry-specific reports.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.