Research guides: MScSM @ UTM: Finding Government & NGO Documents

Finding Government & NGO Documents

Use these databases to find reports, white papers and other publications produced by:

governments,
non-governmental organizations (NGOs),
research centres and institutes,
non-profit or charitable organizations,
professional or industry organizations,
coalitions or special-purpose bodies, or
think-tanks

This material is NOT usually peer-reviewed but can sometimes be. It is often considered scholarly and may be written by academics who have published on the same topic in the journal literature.

Scholar Portal Books
This platform also contains documents and reports from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. It can no longer be browsed as a separate collection but can still be searched by keyword, title, author, etc.
JSTOR Sustainability Collection
A collection of journals, e-books, and research reports in the field of sustainability. Topics covered include sustainable business practices, urban planning and development, disaster readiness, conservation, climatology, resource management, energy policy, and more. Content available includes 100+ journals from over 20 disciplines, over 5000+ research reports from 30+ leading think tanks around the world. Also included are open access journals and e-books.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.

Policy File Index
Indexes policy research issued by 350+ public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other organizations. Coverage from 1990 onwards.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, papers, statistics, analyses, and data sets focusing on Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) member countries and global economic and development issues

IssueLab
The (U.S.) Foundation Center's repository of 17000+ member foundation publications. Searchable by keyword or browsable by issue, funder, or organization.

Other Government & Grey Literature Resources

UTL Research Guide: Canadian Government Information
Use this guide to learn about and access Canadian federal, provincial and municipal government information.
Canadian Government Documents - Custom Google Search
A Google Custom Search Engine for Canadian federal, provincial, and municipal documents. Maintained by Carleton University.
UTL Research Guide: UN & Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
Use this guide to learn about and access various online publications and data produced by the United Nations, the European Union, the World Trade Organization, and other IGOs. Please note that not all publications may be available online; University of Toronto Libraries' extensive print government publications collection at Robarts Library may need to be consulted.
California State University-Long Branch Research Guide: Gray Literature
An excellent gateway to other sources of grey literature.

MScSM @ UTM

THINK-TANKS

CONSULTING FIRM REPORTS

Finding Government & NGO Documents

Other Government & Grey Literature Resources