The Writing Centre welcomes you! 

The John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design offer an exceptional resource for all Daniels students seeking assistance with writing and related skills in design and visual studies. The Writing Centre provides academic support for integrating written, spoken, and visual communication. 

Book student appointments at: https://uoft.me/writingcentres (waitlist available)

Access workshop recordings, handouts, and other resources at: https://q.utoronto.ca/enroll/LNWDD8 

Contact: Erica-Allen-Kim, Coordinator writing@daniels.utoronto.ca

All academic papers include the following components:

Title - Simple yet creative

Abstract - Briefly summarise the full paper in the abstract

Introduction - Purpose, thesis, and summary of the paper

The following typically includes one; background, history, review of the literature, or methodology. In this part, include details readers need to understand the debate or summarise previous research on your issue.

Body: This section can be developed and structured as an argument, critique, or discussion. The section is where you share your research and contributions to the study. Summarize, analyze, explain and evaluate your sources.

Conclusion: A summary of the entire work (what was proven, how did you respond to your research question, how did you support your claim), along with any limitations and suggested next steps.

Works Cited or References – Include a list of sources used in your paper.

What is Citation Management?

Citing your papers is an important part of the research process. Nevertheless, citing can also be a tedious and time-consuming step in the research procedure.

Time-saving features offered by citation management software include:

• Collect citations from databases and library catalogues
• Organize, edit, and search through the citations
• Insert in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies into documents
• Create bibliographies in citation styles like APA, MLA, Chicago and more
• Share your citations and collaborate with others on projects

*Note: Software for managing citations can save time, but it's not always perfect. Always double-check your work before turning it in.

What's the best citation software that's best for you?

Our Favourites!

RefWorks

Zotero

Best Practices for Citing Images!

We advise that you record the following as you complete your research to make citing sources simpler:

• Image creator's name (artist, photographer, etc.)
• Title of the original image
• Date of the original image (or work represented by the image) was created
• Date the image was posted online
• Date of access (the date you accessed the image online)
• Institution (gallery, museum, etc.) where the image is displayed or owned (if applicable)
• Website and/or Database name

The following site has suggestions on the information you need to cite images in various citation styles.

• UofT Mississauga Library - Free Images: Creative Commons and Public Domain - Citing Images  

Best Practices for Citing AV:

*AV: Film, TV, Online Streaming Platforms, Lectures, and more.

We advise that you record the following as you complete your research to make citing sources simpler:

Films: 

• Director’s full name
• Title of the original movie
• Name of the Production Company
• Year of release
• Website and/or Database name - Full URL

Television:

• Director’s full name
• Title of the original movie
• Title of the original episode and the episode number
• Name of the Production Company
• Name of the network
• Year of release
• Aired (Month/Day/Year)
• Website and/or Database name - Full URL

Online Streaming Platforms 

*Some examples of Online Streaming Platforms are podcasts, video games, microfilm, social media, YouTube videos, and lectures.

• Creator(s), Presenter(s) and/or Host(s) full name(s)
• Title of the original work
• Title of the original episode and the episode number
• Released (Month/Day/Year)
• Aired (Month/Day/Year)
• Accessed (Month/Day/Year)
• Name of the Production Company (if applicable)
• Name of the network (if applicable) 
• Website and/or Database name - Full URL

The following site has tips on everything you need for you to cite audio and visual recordings.

• Purdue University - 
  • Online Writing Lab -  Audiovisual Recordings and Other Multimedia