Research Guides: Contemporary Visual Arts Research Guide: Databases

Databases

Databases: Find Articles, Newspapers, and Journals

The same search techniques and Boolean operators used to find books in the library catalogue, also work when searching for articles in databases.

Why use a Database?

Databases locate reputable publications for scholarly articles about an artist, exhibition or trend that is relevant to your search. Within these databases, you can find articles that discuss a theme or movement as it relates to an artist.

Best Bets!

ARTbibliographies Modern
Citations to journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art (ca. 1880) and photography.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Information about international and multilingual art history journals, including selected full-text access.

Art and Architecture Archive
Art and Architecture Archive is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects. The magazines cover the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text.

Databases for Visual Art Research

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Rpertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Canadian Feature Film Database
Cinema and Media Studies - Oxford Bibliographies
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index Annotated bibliographies for articles and data in design and applied arts from 1973.
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Film & Television Literature Index Citation information with select full-text covering a range of television and film research.
FRANCIS
Google Scholar
Grove Art Online
JSTOR Multidisciplinary full text database that allows you to search for articles from scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also gives you access to a major collection of ebooks, primary sources, and images.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Performing Arts Periodicals Database Citations to scholarly and popular performing arts journals, including full-text coverage.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Smithsonian Collections Online
Comprises two distinct primary source collections spanning the 19th and early 20th centuries: World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow, and Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry.
Indigenous Studies Portal Provides access to digital Indigenous studies resources including sources focused on Indigenous authors, drama, humour, oral traditions, poetry, personal narratives and interviews, and traditional stories

Newspapers

Highlighted Journals

Included, but not limited to:

Artexte
- Directory of publications on Canadian contemporary art.
Annual exhibition of Contemporary Canadian Art
- Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library - Rare Book Collection
C Magazine
- Canadian Art Periodicals: Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library - Rare Book Collection
E-Flux
- E-Flux provides information on some of the world's most important contemporary art exhibitions, publications and symposia.
Kaleidoscope
- An international free magazine of contemporary art and culture
Parachute
- Bilingual French and English contemporary art magazine
RACAR, revue d'art canadienne / Canadian Art Review
- A comprehensive art history publication in Canada, rather than focusing on a single method of the subject, RACAR reflects the breadth and diversity of art historical practices in Canada.

Research Guides

Contemporary Visual Arts Research Guide

Databases

Best Bets!

Databases for Visual Art Research

Newspapers

Highlighted Journals

Included, but not limited to:

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us