The BRIDGE New Venture Program Research Guide

A list of funding opportunities available via University of Toronto Entrepreneurship. Includes programs such as the Connaught Fund, the Hatchery, OCE SmartStart, and UTEST, and a link to the MaRS Funding Portal.

A small business enterprise centre (SBEC) providing advice and support for starting a business in Toronto.

Ontario government programs to fund ventures by young people.

Organization of women investors organizing Angel School for Entrepreneurs training program to teach women about startup investing.

Awards, grants and fellowships for U of T students. List is collected and managed by the office of the VP Research and Innovation.

Genome Canada’s GAPP competition promotes the commercialization and translation of genomics-derived technologies.

Supports Canadian non-profit innovators using technology to tackle the world's biggest social challenges. Five winning Canadian organizations will receive a $750,000 grant, and five additional finalists will receive $250,000.

Federal government funding put toward defining and addressing global health issues.

A database of Canadian business funding opportunities, searchable by funding goal and geography. Created by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (formerly Industry Canada).

The objective of the #OUTForBusiness Program is to empower LGBTQ Youth Entrepreneurs, 18-39 years old, by providing them with financial support and tailored guidance to help them establish or grow their own businesses.

Early-stage capital can be critical to your venture’s success. MaRS offers a range of products and services to help you find the funding you need to grow your business.

A guide to crowdfunding resources, equity-sourced crowdfunding in Canada, and tracking the latest developments in crowdfunding.

A compendium of funding opportunities in Canada and abroad.

Seed and post-seed funding and other programs for life science companies in Ontario.

An opportunity for Ontario’s next generation of entrepreneurs to access much-needed funding and support for the launch or growth of their neurotechnology startup company

Supports late-stage academic research and early-stage companies developing promising “’omics” and ’omics-enabled technologies as they move towards commercial applications, to speed up the transfer of products from R&D to market.

Receive email alerts about new funding opportunities based on your preferred discipline (e.g. Health & Life Sciences, Engineering) and function (e.g. commercialization).

The SmartStart Seed Fund is an exciting new opportunity for Ontario's next generation of entrepreneurs to access much-needed funding to take their start-up to the next level. Open to young entrepreneurs from the ages of 18 to 29 and entrepreneurs from the age of 30+, the program provides both seed financing and financing for entrepreneurship skills training to help recipients grow their start-up and make them investment and customer ready.

City of Toronto program provides training, advice, mentoring and grants to help build a business.

Annual events and programs to fund and support entrepreneurs in Toronto and across Canada.

Annual events and programs to fund and support female entrepreneurs in Toronto and across Canada.

Venture capital and startup data searchable by company, individual, location, market sector. Accessible salary data and valuation data.

This website includes VC & PE research publications and statistics. Focus on UK.

Articles & statistics on venture capital and private equity in Canada.

Reports, presentations and statistics on the venture capital & private equity industries in Canada. Also includes a member directory searchable by industry/area of interest.

Detailed investment information on startup companies, executives, and investors in Canada and globally. Search the Business Graph to link them all together.

Organization of women investors organizing Angel School for Entrepreneurs training program to teach women about startup investing.

A networking platform designed to match startup ventures with investors. Browse investors and startups by keyword, location and industry.

The (American) National Venture Capital Association encourages, underwrites, and publicizes research & data on issues important to the venture process.

SheEO is a global community of women radically transforming how we finance, support, and celebrate female innovators.

Produced by the Government of Canada, a quarterly publication on the venture capital (VC) industry in Canada. The goal of this series is to provide current information about this key enabling industry. To this end, the series will track trends in investment activity, report on topical VC-related research and look at key technology clusters where VC investment is taking place. Current up to 2014.

A guide to Canadian crowdfunding platforms and associations