ANTB64: Are You What You Eat?: The Anthropology of Food

Provides short encyclopedia entries and annotated bibliographies of scholarly books and peer-reviewed journal articles on major topics in anthropology. They provide helpful reading lists to get you started with the research process. For example, see the entry on food.

This resource gives anthropology students a guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.

Divided into four sections, this exhaustive Handbook covers interfaces, places, methodologies and futures. Within each section authors at the leading edge of the discipline contribute in-depth chapters on the central principles and latest developments in their area of expertise.

This source explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches. The well-written and informative entries cover the history of regional cuisines, major festivals and feasts, and general subjects that examine the cultural, sociological, and psychological perspectives of food.

Interest in the anthropology of food has grown significantly in recent years. Twenty essays by leading figures in the discipline examine traditional areas of research as well as cutting-edge areas of inquiry. Divided into three parts - Food, Self and Others; Food Security, Nutrition and Food Safety; Food as Craft, Industry and Ethics - the book covers topics such as identity, commensality, locality, migration, ethical consumption, artisanal foods, and children's food.

Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study.