Research Guides: Food Studies Resources @ UTSC: Food Studies Resources @ UTSC

Quick Links

Journals & Magazines

Food & Foodways
Food, Culture & Society
Journal for the Study of Food & Society
1996-2003. Now Food, Culture & Society.
Global Food History
New journal published out of Culinaria
Food & History
Lucky Peach
2011-2017, no longer in print.
CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures
Anthropology of Food
Gastronomica
International Journal of South Asian Studies
Volume 11 is a special issue on food.

Reference Resources

The UTSC Library has a growing collection of Food Studies books.

Get background information on food topics by exploring these electronic encyclopedias:

Finding Books

Find books by searching in the Library Search and limiting the format to Books by using the drop-down menu.

UTSC Cookbook Collection

The UTSC Library has a cookbook collection that you are welcome to use for research or personal purposes. The collection is located in the short shelves near the front of the stacks on the left hand side of the library. It includes current and historical cookbooks representing foods from a variety of places and cultures.

You can explore the UTSC Library Cookbook Collection here, but come in to see all the cookbooks that are available.

Online Resources

Food Studies Online
Provides rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.

Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.
Food And Drink in History
From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Bloomsbury Food Library
Bloomsbury Food Library contains a wide-ranging collection of food studies content which reflects the interdisciplinary nature of the growing subject. The collection includes a broad range of encyclopedias, reference works, eBooks, images, and more on the subject. Highlights of the collection include image collections from institutions around the world, a collection of historic illustrated menus, the 2013 revised and expanded edition of Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink which is considered an essential piece of culinary literature, global overage from works such as Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, and specially curated lesson plans and bibliographic guides to assist with research. Of interest to scholars in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, sustainability, literary studies, and developmental studies.
Food History: Printed and Manuscript Recipe Books, 1669-1990
This is a delectable collection comprising centuries of recipes for the kitchen, medicinal formulas for the home, advice for the housekeeper, practical ways to cook on a budget, tips on serving and table etiquette, guidance concerning household management, how to grow one's own food, how to select and buy food, and much more. Food History shows the types of foods that were being eaten, different cultural cuisines, and the diversity of foodways. The books and manuscripts in the collection range in date from 1669 to the early to mid 20th century, with the majority centered in the 18th and 19th century.
Food Stats
From Statistics Canada. Food Stats provides an intuitive way to access food-related information. Users can easily search for resources across various subjects, including health, economic accounts, food manufacturing and food production. Resources can be filtered by type. Users can also use keywords to find regional information by census metropolitan area, province or territory. Over time, Food Stats may include information from outside Statistics Canada as well.

UTSC Archival Collections

Harley J. Spiller collection
Explore this rich collection of over 10, 000 menus.
The collection is comprised of menus from around the world.
The material is divided into Series 1 Menus. The series is divided into 6 subseries: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania and South America.
Robert Bon Lee Menu Collection
Collection contains 65 Chinese and Polynesian menus mostly from the Toronto area, collected from around the 1950s to 1970s. Also includes some menus from Quebec and the USA.
Brazilian Menu collection
Collection consists of menus from various regions of Brazil. Restaurants are located in Sobra-Loja, Rio de Janeiro, Londrina, Sao Paulo, Leblon, Bahia, and Sao Lourenco.

More Specialized Resources at UofT Libraries

Food & Agricultural Studies Guide
Nutritional Sciences Resources
UTSC Finding Primary Sources Guide
UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections Guide
Primary Sources at UofT Libraries
Search tools and databases | Types and formats | Collections at UofT

UTSC Writing Support

UTSC Writing Support helps students learn to become better writers through a variety of services:

One-on-one tutoring
Writing retreats
Writing and citing: Files, resources, and tips
Using and citing resources
Types of writing
Intro to writing, reading, and note-taking at university
Writing style and grammar
FAQs

Also check these pages for more helpful links and resources:

Assignment Planner

Assignment Planner
The Assignment Planner breaks down various projects into manageable steps based on your due dates. Each step includes hints and "how-to" links. You can also add each step to your calendar using button "Add to Calendar" .

Academic Advising & Career Centre

The AA&CC is here to support your academic and career success! They can help you:

develop your academic plan and study skills strategies, including time management and exam preparation
explore career, employment, and further education options and put your career plans in to action

Check out our website at utsc.utoronto.ca/aacc, drop by in person at AC213 or call us at (416) 287-7561.

Food Studies Resources @ UTSC

Ask Chat

September 3-December 6

Need help? Contact your Liaison Librarian