Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTB64: Are You What You Eat?: The Anthropology of Food

Professor Lena Mortensen - Fall 2020

AAA Citation Style

AAA Style follows the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS), 17th Edition.

There are two styles within the CMOS: the author-date system and the notes-bibliography system. AAA style uses the author-date system.

The Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style (also known as CMOS or Chicago Style) is a form of citation created in 1906 by the University of Chicago Press (Gatta 2009). There are two styles within CMOS: the author-date system and the notes-bibliography system.

Navigate using the tabs above to learn more about each system and access help resources. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: AAA style follows the CMOS's author-date system.

An introduction to the author-date system:

  • Used in the sciences and social sciences
  • In-text citations: author and date (and page numbers, if applicable) included in parentheses
  • Includes a reference list

Example of author-date:

In-text:

(Author's Surname Year of Publication, page/pages)

Example:

(McCune 2014, 32)

Reference list:

Author's Surname, Author's Given Name. Year of publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Example:

McCune, Jeffrey Q., Jr. 2014. Sexual Discretion: Black Masculinity and the Politics of Passing. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. 

Looking for the reference format for another type of source? Click on the Resources tab in this section for detailed guides and help pages with information about how to create in-text citations and reference lists for different types of sources. 

An introduction to the notes-bibliography system:

  • Used in history, art, and literature
  • In-text: superscript numbered notes
  • Corresponding footnotes or endnotes
  • Full bibliography

Example of notes-bibliography:

Note entry:

Note number. Author's Full Name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication), Page or Pages. 

Example:

1. Jeffrey Q. McCune Jr., Sexual Discretion: Black Masculinity and the Politics of Passing (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014), 32. 

Repeated note entries:

In the notes-bibliography format, the first time a source is cited in the footnotes, the full details must be provided. For repeated citations of the same source, only the author(s)'s last name(s), the title's short form (without subtitle) and the page numbers (where necessary) are needed.

Example:

2. McCune, Sexual Discretion.

Bibliography:

Author's Surname, Author's Given Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication.

Example: 

McCune, Jeffrey Q., Jr. Sexual Discretion: Black Masculinity and the Politics of Passing. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014. 

Looking for the footnote/endnote or bibliography format for another type of source? Click on the Resources tab in this section for detailed guides and help pages with information about how to create notes or bibliography entries for types of sources.