FIAF International Film Archive provides International coverage in various languages of publications in a curated collection crafted by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), including publications from Africa, Asia, Slavic language regions, and more. 

Searching Tips for FIAF Databases (IIFP & IITP) in OVID

• LIMITED to 3 users at a time. If you can't access it, return later when one of the 3 seats have opened up to new users.  
• This an OVID database which requires different search strategies so take a look at these search tips:  
  1. Search by one Subject Heading - OVID platform
  2. Search all fields by one Keyword  - OVID platform 
  3. Combine Searches - OVID platform 
  4. Video tutorials for searching in OVID (bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos)
• To access the resource, use GET IT UTL button on left side of record to access item through UofT Libraries
  • If you don't see a UTL link,  try to find an article by title in LibrarySearch 
  • Not available through UofT Libraries? Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request
• More details about FIAF Databases: 
  • OVID Advanced Search fields/options for FIAF Databases
  • OVID FIAF Database Guide  

Periodical indexes can help you find articles about a specific topic. These film indexes contain detailed production information on specific films (incl. release dates, cast,  and other production-related information). There can also be records for significant filmmakers, film studios, and some performers.

• There should only be one record for each film unless it has been remade (check the date).
• Scroll down the record to find citation information for key reviews and articles about the film.
• Links will not be provided, but you can use the publishing information (e.g., periodical title, the specific date, volume and issue, and page numbers) to look up the articles in the UofT Library Catalogue. 
• Use a citation information to access a journal / newspapers / magazine article.
  • How to Find Specific Articles
  • How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch
• Search Individual Historical Publications (links to The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, New York Times, etc)
  • Using LibrarySearch to find articles in a specific journal
  • Finding articles in specific newspapers

If you aren't able to find the article, contact your Librarian for help or hop on Ask a Librarian Online Chat Service. Remember if the article isn't available at UofT Libraries, you can see about getting the article from another institution via Inter Library Loan Request.