An essential source of primary historical information on film covering the period before, during, and after 1928-1960. Includes digitized versions of Film Daily (1918-1948), Motion Picture Herald (1931-1948), Photoplay (1914-1943), American Cinematographer (1921-1942), Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers (1916-1954) and many more.
ProQuest is a platform containing 116 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., magazine, journal and book titles) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period - i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
This Internet Archive library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
This government database contains America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 and includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory which allows you to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
MRQE is a searchable online index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies including: reviews, news, and user discussion.
CineFiles is a free online database that contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
This resource for detailed production information on specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information) as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day.
This is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
An extremely useful and easy-to-use two-volume set that lists films alphabetically by title, and indexes reviews from multiple sources. v. 1, 1882-1949; v. 2, 1950-1985.
This database contains scans of "... the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles."
Note: Users must register to view the scanned documents clearly.
Below are some of the most common publications containing contemporaneous film reviews. Except where indicated, all are available online in their entirety.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.