Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JOUB01: Covering Immigration and Transnational Issues

A guide for students enrolled in JOUB01H3, with research tips for assignment completion.

Proquest Newsstream Databases

Canadian Newstream

Search the most recent Canadian news content including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format.

Ethnic News Watch is a database is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. 

Global Newstream

Search the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia

US Newsstream  

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

CBCA Reference & Current Events  

A comprehensive index for Canadian periodicals focusing on current events. Current events are interpreted broadly to include politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of news, whether happening in Canada or abroad. CBCA Current Events indexes articles published in newspapers, newsmagazines and newswires, as well as transcripts of television news programmes. Most of the sources are Canadian.

PAIS Index  

A major database for political science. PAIS International offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It is an important index for its coverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and Internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide. PAIS is published by the Public Affairs Information Service.

Proquest - Searching within a Specific Publication

In order to search within a certain publication, please use the following steps:

1. Enter your keywords:

2. Select "Publication Title - PUB" from the drop down menu. You can look up publication titles as well:

3. To look up publications, click on "Look up Publications," and type in the title. You can search by "contains" and "begins with." You can add all ot the relevant titles you want:

4. You can also narrow down by date. To do so, under "Publication date" choose specific date range. Then, indicate the range that you are interested in: