Research guides: JOUB01: Covering Immigration and Transnational Issues: Other Newspaper Databases

Additional Newspaper Databases

Canadian Newsstand
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Canadian Newsstand is a full text database that includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
A major database for Canadian topics, covering other topics as they appear in Canadian journals and magazines. CPI.Q provides access to a broad range of journals and magazines, mainly published in Canada. It includes the full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail from 1997+.
CBCA Reference & Current Events This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index for Canadian periodicals focusing on current events. Current events are interpreted broadly to include politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of news, whether happening in Canada or abroad. CBCA Current Events indexes articles published in newspapers, newsmagazines and newswires, as well as transcripts of television news programmes. Most of the sources are Canadian.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A major database for political science. PAIS International offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It is an important index for its coverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and Internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide. PAIS is published by the Public Affairs Information Service.