MGT434H5: Mergers and Acquisitions

Mergers, Acquisitions, and Other Restructuring Activities is unique in that it is the most current, comprehensive, and cutting-edge text on M&A and corporate restructuring available. It is current in that it includes many of the most up-to-date and notable deals (e.g., Facebook's takeover of WhatsApp, the Dell privatization, and Verizon's mega buyout of Vodafone's share of Verizon Wireless), precedent setting judicial decisions (e.g., efforts to overturn defenses at Airgas and Sotheby's), new regulations (e.g., expediting backend mergers), trends (e.g., increasing role of activist investors in takeovers), and new tactics (e.g., two-tiered poison pill) employed in M&As. Most integrative case studies are new for this edition and involve transactions that have been announced or completed since 2013.

Mergers and acquisitions (M&As) reshape the corporate landscape helping companies expand market share and gain a strategic advantage. The ability to understand and analyze these transactions is a crucial skill. The first step in acquiring that skill is being able to gather and analyse information on M&As from public sources, such as financial statements. This textbook helps its readers better analyze M&A transactions using information provided in financial statements. Covering accounting and reporting of consolidations, goodwill, non-controlling interests, step acquisitions, spin-offs, equity carve-outs, joint ventures, leveraged buyouts, disposal of subsidiaries, special purpose entities, and taxes, it focuses on the link between underlying economic events and the information in financial statements and how this link affects the assessment of corporate performance. The first part of the book provides description of the accounting rules governing M&A transactions, while the second part includes cases of M&A transactions. Each case focuses on a different element of an M&A transaction, and it is followed by a detailed solution with a complete analysis. Unlike other books in this field, this textbook focuses exclusively on accounting and financial analysis for graduate and upper undergraduate level courses in financial analysis, corporate finance, and financial accounting.

Solid guidance for selecting the correct strategic basis for mergers and acquisitions Examining how M&A fits in corporate growth strategies, Maximizing Corporate Value through Mergers and Acquisitions covers the various strategic reasons for companies entering mergers and acquisitions (M&A), with a look at those that are based on sound strategy, and those that are not. Helps companies decide whether M&As should be used for growth and increased corporate value Explores why M&A deals often fail to deliver what their proponents have represented they would Explains which types of M&A work best and which to avoid With insider guidance on what boards of directors should be aware of when evaluating proposed deals, Maximizing Corporate Value through Mergers and Acquisitions provides a sound foundation for understanding the risks involved in any mergers and acquisitions deal, before it's too late.

Beginning in the 1990s the number and size of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A) has been increasing. The value of global M&As in 1995, was $980 billion, peaked to $4169 billion in 2007, and then dropped to $2705 billion in 2010. During the same period an increasing number of enterprises from emerging market economies have become active in cross-border merger and acquisitions. The emergence of these enterprises in the international M&A markets are motivated by a desire to achieve competitive advantage through the acquisition of natural resources, brands, technology, and knowledge . Among the most active M&A players from the emerging market countries are the Chinese, the country with which this book will be primarily, though not exclusively, concerned. This book will take the reader through all steps of a global merger or acquisition, including targeting companies, closing optimal deals, enterprise valuation and due diligence. How to optimize deal structures for the host company from the financial, accounting, and tax standpoints of the host country will be discussed along with the importance of first assessing the likelihood of securing approval from the agencies charged with determining the national security implications of the proposed deal. Finally, readers will learn how to maximize shareholder value through executing post-merger initiatives that will harmonize the structure and performance of the transformed enterprise.

The first volume to explore mergers and acquisitions in the 21st century. The authors systematically introduce, characterize and evaluate these mergers, and discuss the methodologies that can be employed to measure them. They also consider a number of factors relevant to the performance of mergers and acquisitions.

The Handbook argues that the field of M&A is in need of a re-rooting: past research needs to be critically reviewed, and fundamental assumptions revisited. The Handbook aims to bridge the previously separate disciplines of strategy, finance, accounting and human resources engaged in the study and practice of M&A to provide more meaningful results. Toward this end, the Handbook brings together a set of prominent and emerging scholars and practitioners engaged in the study of M&A to provide thought-provoking, state of the art overviews of M&A through four specific 'lenses' - strategic, financial, socio-cultural, and sectoral approaches. By summarizing key findings in current research and exploring ways in which the differing approaches could and should be 'synthesized', it aims to highlight the key issues facing M&A practitioners and academics in the 21st century.