Skip to main content

Research Guides

In the Loop: News for UTL Staff

SOCIAL MEDIA HIGHLIGHTS

Don't forget to tag your U of T photos for a chance to be featured. Use the hashtag, #UofTLibraries.

Stay Connected

Follow UTL -- we are @uoftlibraries on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram. Visit our social media directory for individual library social media channels.

Week of November 12 - 16, 2018

'Tis the season!

tweet from Graham library promoting greet cards

Week of November 5 - 9, 2018

Fancy learning more about one of last week's Google doodle? Check out some material from the Tyrrell archival collections at Fisher Library.

tweet from Fisher Library about Joseph Burr Tyrrell's Google doodle

Week of October 29 - November 2, 2018

Halloween is almost upon us and U of T Alumni shared an interesting look into the Fisher Library's De Monstris exhibit with David Fernandez.

tweet from UofT Alumni featuring Monsters exhibit at Fisher Library

Week of October 22 - 26, 2018

Everyone is marking Open Access Week in our libraries and on social media, check out this cool challenge at UTM Library!

tweet from UTM library

Week of October 15 - 19, 2018

Exciting news from UTSC Library about a new mindfulness space coming soon!

tweets from UTSC library about upcoming mindfulness space

Week of October 9 - 12, 2018

We hope you all had a wonderful long weekend filled with delicious turkey!

tweet from Fisher Library with Thanksgiving recipe

Week of October 1 - 5, 2018

The University College Archives Collection is now on display at Fisher Library!

tweet from UTARMS of UC college post 1890 fire

Week of September 24 - 28, 2018

Congratulations to Bora Laskin Law Library on its 500 000th visitor last week!

Bora Laskin celebrates its 500 000th visitor on Twitter

Week of September 17 - 21, 2018

Did you stop by to see the ROM's travelling planetarium at OISE Library yesterday? Check out the photos of the cool Science Literacy Week event on Twitter and Instagram!

tweet from OISE Library about planetarium

Week of September 10 - 14, 2018

Science Literacy Week starts next Monday, and we can't wait to see what our libraries have in store!

tweet from UTSC library promoting SciLit Week

Week of September 4 - 7, 2018

Scully, Gerstein, and UofT Libraries are welcoming all new and returning students back to UofT!

tweet from Gerstein welcoming students back to school

Week of August 27 - 31, 2018

A new job posting for a Wikipedian in Residence has sparked a lot of interest!

Tweet promoting hiring for a Wikipedian in Residence

Week of August 7 - 10, 2018

We hope you all had a great long weekend (and enjoyed International Beer Day!).

tweet from Fisher Library with vintage beer labels

Week of July 23 - 27, 2018

Start your week with some cool UofT trivia from Bora Laskin Law Library!

tweet from Bora Laskin about UofT's crest

Week of July 16 - 20, 2018

Happy world emoji day!

tweet from Kelly Library celebrating emoji day

Week of July 9 - 13, 208

Bora Laskin Law Library gets more fame with some filming for CBC's The National

tweet from Bora Laskin Library

July 3 - 6, 2018

Beat the heat like the Silver Gull! We hope you all found a way to escape the weather this weekend.

tweet from Gerstein Library about keeping cool

Week of June 26 - 29, 2018

Last week our libraries displayed their pride in so many colourful ways - like with this "reading rainbow"!

Tweet from UofT Libraries with a picture of a "reading rainbow" at Robarts

Week of June 18 - 22, 2018

Last week, a new Heritage Minute was released about LGBTQ2+ activist Jim Eagan, with help from his official biographer and the Head of Book and Serials Acquisitions at UofT Libraries, Don McLeod!

tweet from UofT promoting the Jim Eagan Heritage Minute

Week of June 11 - 15, 2018

We're in the middle of convocation season, and our libraries are busy supporting this year's graduates. Congratulations!

tweet from Bora Laskin Library showing the campus for convocation

Week of June 4 - 8, 2018

Voting day for the Ontario Election is this Thursday June 7 - and we're helping to spread the word!

tweet from UofT Libraries promoting 10 tips for the Ontario election

Week of May 28 - June 1, 2018

Doors Open Toronto was last weekend, and many people stopped by to visit libraries like the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, the Media Commons, UTARMS and the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies Library!

tweet from @uStMikes promiting PIMS Library at Doors Open TO

Week of May 22 - 25, 2018

On another grey and rainy day let's admire the beautiful weather and views from Gerstein.

Instagram post from Gerstein Library showing a view out a window

Week of May 14 - 18, 2018

Who needs the gym when you have this "portable" reel-to-reel recorder!

Tweet from UofT Magazine throwing back to a reel-to-reel recorder from 1968

Week of May 7 - 11, 2018

May the fourth brought out the Star Wars side of Gerstein!

tweet from Gerstein library with image of a 3-D printed star wars set

Week of April 30 - May 4, 2018

A new DIY resource from UofT Libraries is making a buzz online!

tweet from UofT Libraries promoting Open Textbook Toolkit

Week of April 23 - 27, 2018

When's the last time you read for relaxation? Bora Laskin Law Library has got you covered!

Tweet from @LaskinLawLib about take-a-book service

Week of April 9 - 13, 2018

Last week was Archives Awareness Week, and social media was abuzz with our wonderful archives!

Week of April 2 - 6, 2018

Spring has sprung, so take advantage of the April showers by starting your own garden with the help of the OISE Seed Library!

Week of March 26 - 29, 2018

Spring is approaching, and so are the raccoons! Gerstein gives this one four stars, now the hunt is on for a 5 star competitor!

Week of March 19 - 23, 2018

 

Happy belated birthday UofT! Last week we celebrated the University's 191st birthday in many ways- like this image from the UofT Archives from 100 years ago:

sopwith camel (plane from WW2) in front of University College

See some more highlights from the day by clicking here.

Week of March 12 - 16, 2018

 

Celebrating some leading ladies on International Women's Day!

Week of March 5 - 9, 2018

Happy belated anniversary to the Bora Laskin Law Library!

Week of February 26 - March 2, 2018

It was a busy reading week at Gerstein Library!

tweet from Gerstein Library with video of rennovations in Wallace Room

By: @GersteinLibrary

Week of February 20 - 23, 2018

Last Friday kicked off the Year of the Dog - Happy Lunar New Year!

instagram post from OISE library saying "happy chinese new year"

Week of February 12 - 16, 2018

The beautiful water colour paintings of Derek Walcott get a lot of attention on Instagram - the exhibit featuring his paintings and drawings is on display in Robarts Library for February's Black History Month:

instagram post from uoftlibraries promoting poet Derek Walcott for Black History Month

Week of February 5 - 9, 2018

Valentine's Day is approaching and love is in the air... for the most part...

tweet from Kelly Library announcing a "blind date with a book" with image of wrapped books

instagram post from Fisher Library of a book with the title "An Awkward Meeting" with the cover image of a tiger attacking a man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By: @UStMikesKelly and @FisherLibrary

Week of January 22 - 26, 2018

A cool throwback post from OISE Library:

tweet from OISE library containing an image of a 1947 grammar textbook

By: @OISELibrary

Week of January 15 - 19, 2018

Time for a trip to UTM to see Donna Wark's beautiful book sculptures!

Tweet by @UTMlibrary showasing art in the library display cases on the main floor by Donna Wark

By: @UTMlibrary

Week of January 8 - 12, 2018

A new year’s treat: the UTL 125 exhibit has now been extended to January 28th!

Tweet from U of T Libraries promoting UTL 125 anniversary exhibit in Robarts and online, with image of library cards throughout the years

By: @UofTLibraries

Week of December 18 - 22, 2017

The snow is here to stay, and Laidlaw Library shared a beautiful throwback to another snowy day in University of Toronto history:

Tweet from UC Library showing historical photo of the campus covered in snow from UC

By: @UCLibrary_UofT

Week of December 11 - 15, 2017

'Tis the season for book trees: the latest picture-perfect stop at UTL!

Click here to check out how this masterpiece was made!

Tweet reading "we just want to spend the rest of term sitting by our book tree at Robarts Library. Come check it out on the 2nd floor"

By: @uoftlibraries

Week of December 4 - 8, 2017

Exciting news from the Daniels Library!

By: @UofTDaniels

Week of November 27, 2017 - December 1, 2017

The Bora Laskin Law Library is prepared for all your relaxation needs:

By: @LaskinLawLib

Week of November 20 - 24, 2017

Finals season is approaching, and neglecting the services offered by libraries is an Obama-nation:

By: @LaskinLawLib

Week of November 13 - 17, 2017

Kelly Library is here for all your research* needs:

*X-Files binging

By: @uStMikesKelly

Week of November 6 - 10, 2017

Remembrance Day is this Saturday, and Fisher is filled with memories of Canada's experience:

By: @Fisher_Library

Week of October 30 - November 3, 2017

UofT Libraries are getting into the Halloween Spirit!

(from left to right, top to bottom)

@MediaCommons_TO

@GersteinLibrary

@UTArchives

@UofTMusicLib

@ischool_infosrv

@utsclibrary

@UTMlibrary

@FisherLibrary

@oise.library

Week of October 23 - 27, 2017

Halloween is next week and the Media Commons is already getting spooky...

By: @MediaCommons_TO

Week of October 16 - 20, 2017

Last Thursday October 12 we celebrated the 125th anniversary of UofT libraries - in the beautiful Fisher Rare Book Library!

By: @Fisher_Library

Week of October 10 - 13, 2017

Gerstein pounces on the opportunity for puns with the latest UTL 125 Anniversary Exhibit at Robarts: 

by  GersteinLibrary

Week of October 2 - 6, 2017

UTARMS researchers document impressive paintings and wall charts by Irene Nosyk:

by utarchives

Week of September 25-29, 2017

Photography rises to a whole new level with the VR camera at Gerstein's MADLab:

by gersteinlibrary

Week of September 11-15

Feeling the magic? The Fisher Rare Book Library shares a woodcut of the fantastical basilisk:

by FisherLibrary

Week of September 4 - 8

The UTARMS staff bade a bittersweet farewell to their graduating TALint students (with an emphasis on the sweet):

by  UTArchives

Week of August 28 - September 1

Stretch out the last days of summer in the Inforum:

by ischooltorontoinfoservices

Week of August 21 - 25

Can you guess what event eclipsed all other social media posts on Monday? Put on your protective eyewear and take a look below:

by  UofTMusicLib

by  uoftlibraries

by  ThomasFisherLibrary

by  UTSCLibrary

by  gersteinlibrary

Week of August 14 - 18

Keep up the good work, Maria!

by  LKCFLC

Week of July 31 - August 4

Who knew that 100 years after its publication you would be able to browse this entire Chemistry text through your computer screen?

By  OISELibrary

Week of July 24 - 28

Marshall McLuhan said, "We drive into the future using only our rear view mirror", and last week UTARMS aimed their mirrors at the late, great media theorist and U of T professor himself:

by  UTArchives

Week of July 17 - 21

"Siri, what did cataloguing look like in 1981?"

by  ROMLibrary

Week of July 10 - 14

The Bora Laskin Library and their new LAWS student were all smiles this week :)

by LaskinLawLib

Week of July 3 - 7

UTARMS shared a pic of Harold Innis on the Peace River in celebration of Canada 150. The image is just one of the many featured in the U of T Showcase 150, an interactive timeline with contributions from UTARMS, the Fisher Library, Victoria University Library and Archives, and St. Michael's College Archives:

by UTArchives

Week of June 26 - 30

Here at UTL we like to share our Pride by the truckful:

by uoftlibraries

Week of June 19 - 23

The Media Commons has all your Pride Month Movie Marathon needs covered:

by MediaCommons_TO

Week of June 12 - 16

UTARMS paid tribute to Diane Longboat to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of First Nations House, and National Aboriginal History Month:

by utarchives

Week of June 5 - 9

All books should be so lucky to end up at "The Book Vault", aka "Book Heaven":

by  uoftlibraries

Week of May 29 - June 2

Gerstein and the Media Commons both had a lot to tweet about this week:

by GersteinLibrary

by  MediaCommons_TO

 

Week of May 22 - 26

OISE Library brought a lot to the table with this stop-motion post:

by oise.library

Week of May 15 - 19

Some charming new flora is sprouting on the walls at Bora Laskin:

by  LaskinLawLib

Week of May 8 - 12

UTM Library celebrated double digits last week. Happy birthday UTM!

by UTMlibrary

Week of May 1 - 5

A timely photo from Professor Roxana Ng's papers, in recognition of May Day:

by UTArchives

Week of April 24 - 28

Time after time UTARMS wows us with their throwback game. Here's an image they unearthed to commemorate Earth Day:

by  UTArchives

Week of April 17 - 21

Spring weather is always a treat, and these beautiful Sakura blossoms are the cherry on top:

by  uoftlibraries

Week of April 10 - 14

The Graham Library shared a wonderful  blog post to commemorate the Vimy Ridge centenntial:

by JohnWGrahamLibrary

Week of April 3 - 7

When we announced via social media that cats were roaming the stacks of UTL, our followers came down with a case of Cat Stacks Fever...

...so we entually had to break it to them that we were only kitten around:

by uoftlibraries

Week of March 27 - 31

This star-studded poetry event looks like it was one for the books-- or the archives:

by utarchives

Week of March 20 - 24

Week of March 13 - 17

The Music Library celebrated International Women's Day with a well-composed tribute to Violet Archer:

by  uoftmusiclib

Week of March 6 - 10

This 1956 Ontario railway map and timetable is a "rail" beaut!

by MDL_UofT

Week of February 27 - March 3

This Freedom to Read week, let's remind ourselves how lucky are we to have thousands of books and other information sources at our fingertips:

by  fisherlibrary

Week of February 20 - 24

It's the last week to visit the "Freedom Ride" exhibit at Robarts to learn more about this poster and other fascinating pieces of Black History at U of T:

by UTArchives

Week of February 13 - 17

At Robarts...

Some papers are read,

Papers are written too,

And some papers are folded into flowers for you ♥

by uoftlibraries

Week of February 6 - 10

The Fisher Library shared this important historical document to commemorate the start of Black History Month:

by Fisher_Library

Week of January 31 - February 3

Week of January 23 - 27

In recognition of the upcoming New Year, John W. Graham Library shared some 20th Century Chinese Art:

by JohnWGrahamLibrary

Week of January 16 - 20

Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf? Certainly not the folks at the E.J. Pratt Library, where they have a new display featuring 43 translations of the iconic author's various works:

by VictoriaUniversityLibrary

Week of January 9 - 13

Oh la la! OISE Library's carpets got a makeover, helping them start out the new year in style:

by OISELibrary

Week of January 2 - 6

The John M. Kelly Library has some cozy new study rooms to help students feel at home after the holidays:

by  KellyLibrarySMC

Week of December 12 - 16

OISE Library is joining in on the holiday fun by playing Secret Santa with these gift-wrapped books:

by OISELibrary

Week of December 5 - 9

As the semester winds down, UTL is gearing up for various holiday celebrations across campus. The John W. Graham Library is getting into the Christmas spirit with a display of Christian iconography:

by JohnWGrahamLibrary

Week of November 28 - December 2

The Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library shared some snaps from their recent event "A Dream of Reconciliation", featuring a conversation between Joy Kogawa, Olivia Chow, and Bishop Patrick Yu:

by eal.uoft

[Note: link may require a Facebook login to view]

Week of November 21 - 25

What kind of dinosaur can you find in a library? A thesaurus! Unless it's #DINOVEMBER at the ROM Library, of course, where their facebook account has gone full-on Jurassic:

by ROMLibrary

Week of November 14 - 18

Good luck tearing yourself away from this addictive behind-the-scenes video of the automatic book return at Robarts:

by uoftlibraries

Week of November 7 - 11

The Fisher library shared some images from their collections in honour of Diabetes Awareness Month:

"For diabetes awareness month we thought we'd highlight our collection of material documenting the initial period of the discovery and development of insulin, which includes original documents ranging from laboratory notebooks and charts, correspondence, writings, and published papers to photographs, awards, clippings, scrapbooks, printed ephemera and realia. The material in the Banting papers and other related collections has also been made into a digital site which you can find through the Fisher website.
#historyofmedicine #historyofscience #manuscripts #canadianheritage #diabetesawareness"

by  fisherlibrary

Week of October 31 - November 4

Halloween Highlights: Here's a roundup of the most spooktacular social media posts from across UTL:

by GersteinLibrary


by  MediaCommons_TO


by oise.library


by  ischooltorontoinfoservices


by Fisher_Library

Week of October 24 - 28

UTARMS shared this wonderful tribute to the late Calvin (Kelly) Gotlieb:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"We are deeply saddened to hear about the passing of Canada's 'father of computing,' Calvin (Kelly) Gotlieb. Our condolences to his family, friends, and colleagues. We are proud to house his archival papers here at the Archives, where researchers can study his work and legacy. This 1982 photograph by Robert Landsdale is rightly labelled 'Mister Computer' on the back."

by UTARMS

Week of October 17 - 21

Have a history of leaving your Halloween planning until the last minute? Lucky for you, the Graham Library has some great costume ideas up its sleeves:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By JohnWGrahamLibrary

Week of October 10 - 14

OISE Library educated us about their inspiring new study carrels with this Instagram post:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Our new study carrels are here! Come see them on the second floor.
#oiselibrary #uoftlibraries #UofT #librariesofinstagram #education #studyspace"

By oise.library

Week of October 3 - 7

Last week the Fisher Library celebrated Banned Books Week by sharing this example of censorship within the pages of their fascinating new acquisition, The Golden Legend:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By fisherlibrary

 

Week of Sept 26 - 30

In anticipation of the upcoming exhibition, "Crime and Punishment at 150: Global Contexts", the Petro Jacyk Central & East European Resource Centre tweeted this interview with U of T Professor, Kate Holland, from the Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures about the legacy of the celebrated novel:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By JacykCentre

Week of September 19 - 23

Science Literacy Week is in full swing, and OISE Library is joining in on the fun by tweeting this invitation to visit their terrifically scientific display:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By OISELibrary

Week of September 12 - 16

Last week many of the libraries had a visit from incoming students during orientation! Kelly Library shared this snap of some frosh exploring their space:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By KellyLibrarySMC

 

Week of September 5 - 9

The Li Koon Chun Learning Centre at UTM and the Bora Laskin Law Library both tweeted out photos of their bright new spaces, ready for the new school year and new students! One more week to go...

 

Week of August 29 - September 2

Bookface Friday is one of our favourite days on Instagram, and last week we posted a photo on the UTL account that one follower and fan declared the "best bookface ever!"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Happy Friday everyone! We’re kicking off the weekend in #style, thanks to today’s #BookFace! If you’re interested in learning about an icon of 1970s #fashion, you’ll want to grab “Halston: Inventing American Fashion” from #RobartsLibrary [call no.Stacks TT505 .H25 F76 2014Y]"

By uoftlibraries

Week of August 22 - 26

Did you know that Graham Library has its own newsletter? Check out their Twitter page for a link to their latest edition!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By GrahamLibrary

Week of August 15 - 19

If you can't bear to miss Olympic coverage when you're out and about on campus, stop by the Gerstein lobby!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"It’s the last week of #Olympics! Cheer on every exciting #RioOlympics moment in our lobby,streaming live till Aug 21!"

By GersteinLibrary

 

Week of August 8 - 12

Many of the libraries at U of T have changed over the years, and the Victoria University Library Facebook page shared a great picture from their archives of a very different E.J. Pratt Library over 20 years ago! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Who remembers the red carpet in the reading room of the E.J. Pratt Library? This picture is from our digital collections database and is dated 1993 http://digitalcollections.vicu.utoronto.ca"

By Victoria University Library 

 

Week of August 1 - 5

Gerstein posted a portrait of the late Ursula Franklin on Instagram this past week, and shared links to resources to learn more about her incredible achievements at U of T and beyond. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"#UofT mourns the passing of renowned scientist, feminist, and pacifist Ursula Franklin. In 1984, Franklin was the first woman to be appointed University Professor, U of T's highest honour. The legacy of Franklin's scientific contributions in metallurgy and materials science is captured in our historic Reading Room, part of our permanent Making History exhibition honouring the scientific history of U of T faculty - learn more about Franklin's impactful work:

http://exhibits.library.utoronto.ca/exhibits/show/makinghistory/101/486 

This portrait is drawn from the collections of @utarchives where researchers can also discover papers documenting her inspiring personal, professional, and public life at the archives - details here:

utarms.library.utoronto.ca/ursula-martius-franklinfonds 

#uoftlibraries #womenscientists #Womeninscience #womeninSTEM #STEM #makinghistory"

Week of July 25 - 29

Pokemon sightings across the U of T campuses have become much more frequent in the past few weeks! They seem particularly fond of libraries, as evidenced by this snap from the Gerstein Instagram account.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"#jigglypuff enjoying the sunny day just outside #gersteinlibrary. Can anyone lend a pair of sunglasses?#UofT #uoftlibraries #gottacatchemall#pokemongo #pokemonTO"

By gersteinlibrary

Week of July 4 - 8

Our colleagues at the UTM and UTSC libraries took to twitter to share these great group photos of some of their staff for  #DisplayYourPride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By UTSCLibrary and UTMlibrary

 

Week of June 28 - July 1

User Services Librarian Judith Logan got into character when she visited Gerstein's new exhibit last week! 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
"Have you stopped by @gersteinlibrary yet to check out their exhibit, Harry Potter's World: Renaissance Science, Magic, and Medicine? It's running until July 16th and is open to the public! Go check it out and show us your best #SiriusBlack impression! #UofTLibraries #UofT #HarryPotter #LibrariesOfInstagram #library #Toronto"
 
 

Week of June 20 - 24

The Faculty of Information's Inforum, temporarily located on the ground floor of Robarts Library during renovations, shared a peek at the work being done in their home space on the fourth floor of the Bissell building. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our Inforum 4th floor this week. Thanks to Michael Cicerani for the photo! #iReno2016

By ischool_infosrv

Week of June 13 - 17

In light of the weekend's tragic news out of Orlando and in solidarity with Pride celebrations around the world, the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library shared some books from one of its unique collections. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By ThomasFisherLibrary

Week of June 6 - 10

Did you know that UTSC Library has a Maker Bot? Check out this photo of it in action that they recently tweeted!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What could our #MakerBot possibly be up to this morning, #UTSC? Any guesses? #3Dprinting #3D #computeranimation

By UTSCLibrary

Week of May 30 - June 3

Convocation ceremonies and celebrations are now underway here at U of T, and Graham Library shared a photo of a souvenir from past festivities. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"This invitation to Trinity Convocation in 1946 fell out of a book and was found by one of our student employees while cleaning #springcleaning #oldiebutgoodie #thepleasureofyourcompanyisrequested #trinitycollege #oldschool #hurrahforoldtrinity"

By instgrahamlibrary

Week of May 23 - 27

The Li Koon Chun Finance Learning Centre at UTM shared this great infographic on Twitter to sum up the past school year:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"What do 7, 128, and 329 have in common? They are all numbers from @LKCFLC's year-end #infographic!"

By LKC FLC

Week of May 16 - 20

The ROM Library and Archives recently posted photos of some books from their unique collection that support the new exhibition, Tattoos: Ritual. Identity. Obsession. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Loving the Tattoos: Ritual. Identity. Obsession. Art. Exhibition? Find out even more at the Library and Archives! Royal Ontario Museum"

By Royal Ontario Museum Library and Archives 

Week of May 9 - 13

On Monday OISE celebrated its 50th anniversary! The OISE Library twitter account live tweeted the event, including many colourful photos of #50thingsOISE gathered to commemorate #OISE50. Follow the link below to see more!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"#OISE50 50 puppets from the OISE library puppet collection! #50thingsOISE"

By OISELibrary

Week of May 2 - 6

With warmer weather expected later this week we're hoping to see the trees outside Robarts in full bloom!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"It may not feel like spring yet, but the signs are there that it's almost here. Spotted this sneak preview of the cherry blossoms outside #RobartsLibrary @uoft

by uoftlibraries

Week of April 25 - 29

This past Saturday the Fisher opened its doors to the public to celebrate both Shakespeare and World Book Day! 

 

"Tour of the exhibition by the lead curator, Scott Schofield, happening now.

Looking for a way to mark the 400th anniversary of the death of the Bard of Avon, William Shakespeare, on April 23? (Incidentally, April 23 is also celebrated as World Book Day.) Why not come to the Fisher when our exhibition space is open for visitors to view ‘So long lives this’: A Celebration of Shakespeare’s Life and Works."

 

By fisherlibrary

Week of April 18 - 22

"EARTH DAY is coming up later this month! Take a break from studying and check out our latest book display!"

By Noranda Earth Sciences Library

 

Week of April 11 - 15

Two black and brown cats by a sunny window, pile of books in front of them

"It’s the #Caturday before the last week of classes! Map and Data Library's Map Cataloguer Jordan's two #kitties Vin Scully and Hope offer their support as she writes one more final paper. ('Can we get a citation?', they ask.) Good luck to everyone finishing up their final assignments and preparing for final exams."

by uoftlibraries

Week of April 4 - 8

Cue card from Stefan Brogren at Degrassi talk with Linda Schuyler

Assistant Media Archivist, Rachel Beattie, live-tweeted the UTL's recent event with Degrassi creator, Linda Schuyler and actor and show runner, Stefan Brogren. Live vicariously through the Storify page, if you happened to miss out on this fabulous event.

"We managed to snag @stefanbrogren's cue card for tonight's @Degrassi event! Going into our archive!"

by Media Commons U of T

Week of March 28 - April 1

EJ Pratt Library circa the 1990s

“Does anybody out there remember when the main floor of the EJ Pratt library looked like this? This picture dates back to the mid-1990s before the library was renovated in 2000.”

by Victoria University Library

Week of March 21 - 25

Nothing says "Happy 189th Birthday, U of T!" quite like cupcakes. Sorry if you missed them, but perhaps come back for 190?

U of T Birthday Cupcakes

"uoftlibrariesHappy Birthday, #UofT! It's the University of Toronto's 189th birthday and you can celebrate by picking up a free #cupcake RIGHT NOW at #RobartsLibrary!"

by uoftlibraries

Week of March 14 -18

Headshots of Annie Laird and Clara Benson - U of T's first women professors

This past Tuesday, March 8th was International Women's Day, a day to celebrate the social, economic, cultural, and political achievement of women. Celebrating U of T's earliest champions of gender parity, here are Professors Annie Laird and Clara Benson.

"Appointed in 1906, Annie Laird & Clara Benson were the first women professors at #UofT. #IWD"

by UofT Archives

Week of March 7 - 11

View of Faculty of Information, a blanket of snow covering the ground, blue skies surrounding

Brief as it was, this was the snow we had all been waiting for!

"We are enjoying the #snowy view from the ground floor entrance to #RobartsLibrary! Come stay cozy and warm up at any of the #UofTlibraries today!"

by uoftlibraries

Week of February 29 - March 4

Picture of the renovated Bora Laskin Law Library, looking toward the large, tall windows

by uoft

It doesn't take many words to describe the crowd-pleaser that is the newly-renovated Bora Laskin Law Library. Thanks to @uoft for this mesmerizing photo:

uoftlibraries Can this shot of the new #BoraLaskinLawLibrary be any better? Kudos to @UofT for capturing this stunning photo of the new #library space!”

“If the #boralaskinlawlibrary is any indication, the newly constructed Jackman law building is going to be a seriously gorgeous addition to #UofT. Have you visited yet?”

uofglibrary@uoftlibraries stunning!!”

sustainableuoft

Week of February 22 - 26

If you haven't heard of Book Face Friday, you're missing out! Here is a stellar shot from the @uoftlibraries Instagram account from last week. Catch up on this trendy Librarian pastime.

"uoftlibraries Feeling #poetic on this #cloudy #BookFaceFriday? We are! Luckily we found this handy guide, Fixed #Stars Govern a Life: #Decoding #SylviaPlath by Julia Gordon-Bramer. Learn more about the connection between Sylvia Plath's #poems and #tarot in the #RobartsLibrary #stacks [PS3566 .L27 F59 2014]"

by uoftlibraries

 

Week of February 15 - 19

"This month's display: Diversity at the #UofT, curated by Barbara Edwards #BlackHistoryMonth
https://utarms.library.utoronto.ca/display-diversity-university-toronto"

by      UofT Archives

Week of February 8 - 12

Love was in the air at OISE library as U of T alumni had a very romantic engagement photo shoot in the library.

Tweet from OISE to congratulate couple who had engagement photos taken at the library

Check out the photo shoot of the couple, and OISE.

Picture of U of T aluni at OISE where they had their engagement photo shoot

by                OISE Library

Week of February 1 - 5

"There is an exhibition of Victorian Valentine's on display in the Reading Room of the E.J. Pratt Library. The items exhibited are from the ephemera collection donated by Lorne Shields to Victoria University Library. The exhibition runs until February 15, 2016."

by Victoria University Library

Week of January 25 - 29

Poster with picture of squirrel with glasses reading, at top; at bottom, a note to leave the squirrel that has come into the building

"We have an unexpected visitor at the UC Library today: a squirrel! (We have called Animal Services.) @uoftlibraries"

by UC Library

Week of January 18 - 22

"From the 1880s to 2016: what a great now-and-then remix of by of "

by UTArchives

Weeks of January 4 - 15

Image of coverage page for Halvorsen violin concerto

"uoftlibraries Exciting new #discovery at #UofT for the new year! U of T #librarians have discovered a long-lost #violin concerto by the #Norwegian #composer Johan Halvorsen."

by uoftlibraries

Week of December 14 - 18

"uoftlibraries Check out the puppet-tree those creative folks at #OISELibrary dreamed up! Great job! First time we have seen a #ChristmasTree covered in #puppets!

Did you know that the library at #OISE has a large collection of puppets?! Embrace your inner child and go check them out! #UofT #uoftbulletin #exploreuoft #librariesofinstagram #libraries #library #uoftlibraries #christmas2015 #christmasdecorations"

by uoftlibraries

Week of December 7 - 11

Picture of Bella the Therapy Dog at Gerstein; Bella sits on a comfy chair as students are happy to pet her

"gersteinlibrary Sweet Bella getting lots of friendly pats today!! #Repost via @uoft ・・・Bella, a ridiculously sweet therapy dog, provided a cuddly "study break to students on the St. George campus today. De-stress with her in the Gerstein Science Information Centre Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 to 1:00pm until December 17. #BellaAtGerstein"

by gersteinlibrary

Week of November 30 - December 4

Tweet from Media Commons UofT: "Our archival asst is in Portland for #amia2015. Stay tuned, she'll be tweeting from the sessions"

The Media Commons’s archival assistant, Rachel E. Beattie, attended the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA) conference in Portland, Oregon last week and live-tweeted some of the sessions and events; you can see all of her tweets and retweets.

Week of November 23 - 27

Students working in front of UC Library stained glass window

" the motto is "To shed light on that which is obscure." to 1970 students studying by stained glass"

by UCLibrary_UofT

Sod-turning ceremony for the John P. Robarts Research Library, 1968

"utarchives November 18, 1968. Librarians Kay (Catherine) Wales, Alice Moulton, and Maureen Hutchinson at the sod-turning ceremony for the John P. Robarts Research Library."

by

Week of November 16 - 20

"Probably more books than you can read during Fall Break ( Library, 1969) ". But, not nearly enough now that reading break has passed...

by UCLibrary_UofT