Skip to main content

Research Guides

In the Loop: News for UTL Staff

UTL Events

Mindful Moments

Tuesdays during the academic year | 12:10 - 12:40 pm |  Faculty of Information Inforum, 5th Fl Rm 520 

Tuesdays during the academic year | 2:00 - 2:30 pm | Robarts Library, Reflection Rm, 8th Fl

Would you like to be more calm, confident and connected? 

Join weekly opportunities Mondays through Fridays to practice secular mindful meditation techniques that will increase your relaxation and focus. 

Mindfulness meditation is about being aware in the present moment. We spend a lot of time focusing on what happened in the past and worrying about the future, and this distracts us from what we want to do in the moment. It also creates a lot of stress! But with mindfulness we can learn to slow down and appreciate the present.

In practice, mindfulness is about maintaining a moment-by-moment awareness of our thoughts, feelings, bodily sensations and surrounding environment.

Mindfulness also involves acceptance, meaning that we pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them—without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment. When we practice mindfulness, our thoughts tune into what we’re sensing in the present moment rather than rehashing the past or imagining the future.

Participating in a mindfulness meditation, yoga or Tai Chi session provides an opportunity to learn and practice techniques that will increase your relaxation, resiliency and focus. 


UX Lab Drop in Hours

Tuesdays during the academic year | 2 - 4pm | Robarts Library on the 5th floor, room 5010

Starting September 27, 2018, the UX Lab in Robarts Library will be open every Thursday for 2 - 4pm for drop-in hours. You can find out more on the UX Lab website.


Robarts Library book sale

Tuesdays, Ongoing | 11am - 4pm | Robarts Library 1st floor


Town Halls on the University Pension Plan

November 2 - 27, 2018 | 6 sessions at the three campuses, see below for details

The University of Toronto, University of Guelph and Queen’s University, together with their faculty associations, the United Steelworkers (USW) and representatives of the non-unionized employees at the three universities (through the Ontario Association of Non-Unionized University Employees) – are working diligently to develop a new pension plan that would cover employees at all three universities, The University Plan Ontario (UPP).

This new pension plan, which would be a jointly sponsored multi-employer pension plan (JSPP), is a type of defined benefit (DB) plan, and it represents a unique opportunity to reshape and sustain the retirement income system in the Ontario university sector.  It is the same model used by other notable pension plans such as the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, OMERS (municipal employees) and CAAT (colleges). Once it is up and running, it will be available to other Ontario universities as well.

Benefits that are already earned under existing plans will not change. The pension benefits of retired members also will not change.

The University of Toronto is holding a series of information sessions for all employees on the pension plan proposal. Members will be part of a consent process that is expected to begin in early 2019.

Campus

Date

Group

Time

Location

UTSC

November 26

Faculty

10 am -12 pm

EV 152

 

 

All

2 pm - 4 pm

EV 152

 

November 27

Retirees

2 pm - 4 pm

HW 305

 

Information about the proposed pension plan is available on the UPP website at www.universitypension.ca, where you can sign up to receive updates. You also can find information at pension.hrandequity.utoronto.ca/upp/

If you have not already done so, we encourage you to visit these sites and participate in the ongoing discussions.


Research Gathering

November 19 | 10:30am – noon | Alice Moulton Room, Gerstein

10:30am – 10:45am – Klara Maidenberg: The Challenges and Opportunities in Working with Faculty Publications Data

10:45am – 11:00am – Jenaya Webb: Visualizing the Library: Using Photo-elicitation Methods to Explore Wayfinding in Library Spaces

11:00am – 11:15am – Sam-chin Li: Consolidation and Bibliography of Government Information

11:15am – 11:30am – Angela Henshilwood, Desmond Wong & Jennifer Toews: Ithaka S + R Research: Learning About Faculty Research Practices

11:30am – 11:45am – Eveline Houtman: What shapes Academic Librarians' Teaching Practices? A Preliminary Report.

11:45am – noon – Open Q and A


LTLC Practice Exchange: “Peer Observation and Teaching Squares: Reflective Practices in Teaching”

Tuesday November 20, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 pm | 4th Floor Conference Room, Reference & Research Services, Robarts Library

Presenters: Aneta Kwak and Kelly Schultz

Lunch: Please bring your own lunch

Observing your peers teach is a great form of professional development that provides participants with the opportunity to connect with their fellow teaching librarians and develop their teaching skills. The LTLC Community of Practice Working Group has developed a program to support reflective practices through observation of teaching at UTL based on two models, Peer Observation and Teaching Squares.

Join us at the LTLC Practice Exchange to learn more about the “Reflective Practices in Teaching” pilot! Aneta Kwak and Kelly Schultz will draw on their own experiences to provide context for the development of the two models, outline how these two models differ, and lastly discuss how you can participate!

We hope you can join us for this brown bag lunch! No registration necessary.

LTLC Community of Practice Working Group

Aneta Kwak, Eveline Houtman, Alexia Loumankis


Friends of Vic Library Lecture: Indigenous Awareness and Engagement: One Perspective on Listening, Learning and Involvement 

Thursday November 22 | 4pm | Alumni Hall, Old Vic, 91 Charles Street West

Guest Speaker: Jonathon Hamilton-Diabo

All Welcome


UTL Artificial Intelligence Interest Group Meeting

Monday, November 26 | 3:30 - 5:00 pm | Alice Moulton Room, Gerstein Science Information Centre

The UTL Artificial Intelligence (AI) Interest Group will have its next meeting on Monday, November 26, 2018, 3:30-5 pm, in the Alice Moulton Room, Gerstein.

Readings for the session and general information are available on the group’s Confluence page. Please sign up here if you plan to attend, and please remove your name if you end up being not able to attend.   We look forward to another lively round of collegial conversation and learning about AI!

Neil Romanosky
Associate Chief Librarian for Science Research and Information
Director, Gerstein Science Information Centre
University of Toronto Libraries
416-978-6370
neil.romanosky@utoronto.ca


OCULA Webinar on Indigenous Issues and Reconciliation

November 27, 2018  | 12 PM – 1 PM | Register here.

Working towards Reconciliation: Engagement and relationship building to shape access and knowledge organization

This webinar will look at how the reconciliation work of engagement and relationship building can lead to improved knowledge organization and access to Indigenous collections. Three Indigenous professionals, a reference librarian; a teacher and doctoral student; and an iSchool student and library intern; will share their perspectives and experiences.

We’re excited to welcome Kim Lawson, Ryan Neepin, and Jamie Lee Morin

  • Kim Lawson will share insights from Indigenous scholarship, Indigenous Studies scholarship, her scholarship, professional and community experience to support relationship building, engagement, and critical reflection about library metadata.
  • Ryan Neepin will discuss the work of the Deepening Knowledge project and the concept of Knowledge Bundles as a way of engaging with and learning from Indigenous-authored resources
  • Jamie Lee Morin will talk about her experience working at Ryerson University Library & Archives to assist with developing the Aboriginal Research Portal and Four Directions Writing Guide, her work at York University Libraries in Indigenous Metadata, and the goals of her current position with the University of Toronto Libraries.

In Preparation for the Webinar

1.      Read the Preface and Executive Summary (pp. 1-8) of the CFLA – FCAB’s report Truth and reconciliation report and recommendations

2.      Visit the Deepening Knowledge Project’s website, Deepening knowledge: Resources for and about Aboriginal education. In particular, it would be useful to watch either Nathan Goold or Sarah Foster’s video about “Infusing Aboriginal Content and Perspectives Into Your Teaching Practice”:

3.      Download Crystal Fraser and Sara Komarnisky’s list, 150 Acts of Reconciliation for Canada’s 150


Additional reading:

Deitering, A.M., Stoddart, R.A., & Schroeder, R. (2017). The Self As Subject : Autoethnographic Research Into Identity, Culture, and Academic Librarianship. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.


A Celebration of Dr. David Chuenyan Lai’s Life & Academic Achievements

November 27, 2018 | 4pm - 6pm | Richard Charles Lee Canada-Hong Kong Library

The Richard Charles Lee Canada-Hong Kong Library will be hosting a memorial event to celebrate Dr. David Chuenyan Lai’s life and academic Achievements.

Dr. David Lai (1937-2018) was Professor Emeritus of Geography and Adjunct Professor of Pacific and Asian Studies at the University of Victoria. Dr. Lai’s donation of his research collection to the Library has greatly enriched the Library’s collection on Chinese Canadian studies. He also delivered many lectures on Chinatowns and Chinese Canadian history in the Library.

Speakers of this event include:
Mr. Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries
The Honorable Dr. Vivienne Poy, Chancellor Emerita at the U of T and retired Senator of Canada
Dr. Lisa Mar, Associate Professor of History at the U of T
Dr. Xueqing Xu, Associate Professor of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics at York U
Dr. Jessica Tsui-yan Li, Assistant Professor of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics at York U
Dr. Jim Yuan Lai, Assistant Professor of Dentistry, Vice Dean of Education, Graduate Program Director of Periodontics at the U of T

For additional information, please visit the event website.

Please RSVP before Tuesday November 20 by emailing events.rclchkl@utoronto.ca or by calling 416-946-8978 during the library’s opening hours.


Brown Bag Lunch Series: Migration and Exile in our Classrooms

November 29, 2018 | 12:30 - 1:30 pm | CTSI, Room 4035, Robarts Library, 4th Floor

In this brown bag lunch, we will discuss and consider migration and exile in courses and classrooms. We hope to examine what has shaped our own understandings of migration and exile, how migration and exile shapes our identities, our students and, perhaps also our disciplines. We will explore how recent popular media coverage of migration and migrants may affect us, our students and our teaching. Further, we will consider the experiences of students and faculty who are in exile or identify as migrants while they study and/or work at the university.

We encourage participants to bring materials (scholarly, popular or otherwise) that they wish to discuss and questions or concerns they hope to explore. We will also share some suggested readings in the time leading up to this discussion.

Please register online.


Government Information Day

November 30, 2018 | 8:30 - 5:00 pm | OISE Library, 252 Bloor Street West

The sixth annual Government Information Day brings together librarians, experts,  and practitioners to discuss innovations, ideas, and plans for the access and delivery of government information in all of its formats. Register online.


Robarts Library Holiday Market

Tuesday December 4, and Tuesday December 11 (tentative) | 11 am- 2 pm | 2nd floor Robarts Library

Organized by the U of T Libraries and the U of T Bookstore

Find the perfect gift or stocking stuffer for everyone on your list. Choose from an array of unique University of Toronto items, including items from the brand new, limited edition Library Collection. While you shop, enjoy free holiday treats.


Invitation to Rita Vine's Retirement Celebration

Wednesday December 5 | 2 - 4pm | Blackburn Room, 4th floor, Robarts Library

Please RSVP by Wednesday 21 November if you plan to attend. If you require accommodation due to a disability please let us know when you respond. We will work with you to make the appropriate arrangements.

Contributions towards a gift may be made to Lesley Falkner, Library Administration Office, Robarts Library, Room 2009.

There will be a card available to sign before and at the event.


USW General Membership Meeting

December 13, 2018 | 3:30 pm | St. George Campus: 25 Cecil St.;  UTM: DV3129; UTSC: Room MW229

The United Steelworkers Local 1998 is holding a General Membership Meeting requiring release time for December 13, 2018 at 3:30 p.m.

In accordance with the ‘Letter of Understanding: Union Meetings’ of the Staff-Appointed Collective Agreement between the United Steelworkers and the University of Toronto, "employees will be given time off (not to exceed two (2) hours), with no loss of regular straight time pay, up to three (3) times per year to attend General Membership Meetings of the Local Union".

There is no comparable clause in the Casual collective agreement. However, casual employees may attend on their own time if they are not scheduled or required to work.


Robarts Library Reference & Research Services Government Information Training Sessions

Dear Colleagues,

I am writing to let you know about the Robarts Library Reference & Research Services Government Information Training sessions. Below are the sessions that are open to all UTL staff. If you or your staff would like to attend a particular session or have any questions about the content of the session, please contact the trainers  Sam-chin Li and Nicholas Worby.

Best regards,

Jesse

 

Canadian Government Publications

Trainer: Sam-Chin Li

Date: Friday, December 7, 2018

Time: 1:00- 3:00 pm

Location: Map & Data Lab, 5th floor

Canadian Government Publications

  • Parliamentary materials
  • Canadian federal and provincial government publications

Pre-workshop reading.

 

Foreign and International Government Publications 

Trainer:  Sam-chin Li and Nicholas Worby 

Date: Friday, December 14, 2018

Time: 1:00- 3:00 pm

Location: Map & Data Lab, 5th floor

Introduction to foreign and international materials

  • US, UK and other foreign government materials
  • United Nations and other international government organizations

 

Government Publications - Self-directed Study

Date: Complete after the Foreign and International Government Publications sessions and before the Canadian Historical and International Statistics Session

Time: total of 3 hours

Location: Government publications collections, 5th floor Robarts Library

  • Work individually or as a group on sample government publication questions

 

Canadian Historical and International Statistics and Take-up session

Trainer: Nicholas Worby and Sam-chin Li

Date: Friday, January 11, 2018

Time: 1:00- 3:00 pm

Location: Map & Data Lab, 5th floor

  • Canadian historical and international statistics (1 hour) 
  • Take up sample questions from Government Publications Self-directed Study

Pre-workshop reading.