Resources for Dentistry Graduate Students

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Now in its Sixth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this approachable, informative text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions.   The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings. Updated content throughout reflects the latest practices in clinical epidemiology. Increased emphasis on clinical judgment helps students confidently evaluate the effectiveness of guidelines and integrate them into practice. Updated vignette-style end-of-chapter questions place concepts in a clinical context and reinforce students' understanding. Key Word Lists at the start of each chapter familiarize students with critical terminology for clinical competence. Example boxes clarify the clinical implications of important concepts with relevant real-world patient care scenarios. Appendix of Additional Readings highlights trusted resources for further review. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.

Clinical Research in Oral Health surveys the essentials of clinical research in oral health, anchoring these principles within the specific context of the oral health arena. Addressing research questions exclusively applicable to dentistry and oral health, the book thoroughly illustrates the principles and practice of oral health clinical research. Clinical Research in Oral Health also clarifies the framework of regulatory issues and presents emerging concepts in clinical translation, relating the research principles to clinical improvement.

Designed for community dental/public health courses, Dental Public Health and Research also serves as an ideal resource for board exam preparation or for dental hygiene practitioners. Dental Public Health and Research explores the ever-changing world of dental public health-a dynamic career pathway for dental hygienists-and provides readers with the key tools needed to effectively practice and conduct dental hygiene in the public health setting. The Fourth Edition features an increased emphasis on the dental hygienist's understanding of research principles, and an expanded discussion of public health science. Readers are guided through dental hygiene fundamentals,  programs, research, and practical strategies to give them a true understanding of what it takes to be a successful, contemporary dental hygiene practitioner.

This 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This updated edition of the Handbook of  Epidemiology adds 20 new chapters on: History of Epidemiological Methods and Concepts, Cluster Randomized Trials, Internet-Based Epidemiology, Misclassification, Sensitivity Analysis and Bias Analysis,  Emergency and Disaster Health Surveillance, Statistical Inference, Data Management in Epidemiology, Bayesian Methods in Epidemiology, Generalized Estimating Equations, Directed Acyclic Graphs, Life Course Epidemiology, Physical Activity Epidemiology, Radiation Epidemiology, Epidemiology of  Obesity, Epidemiology of Respiratory Allergies and Asthma, Epidemiology of  Dental Diseases, Epidemiology of Digestive Diseases, Epidemiology of Psychiatric Disorders, and Epidemiology of  Diabetes. All other chapters are extensively revised from  the 1st edition. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health.

This book covers some biostatistical methods and several case studies useful to interpret and analyze dental research in the areas of orofacial pain and temporomandibular disorders. It will guide practitioners in these fields who would like to interpret research findings or find examples on the design of clinical investigations. After an introduction dealing with the basic issues, the central sections of the textbook are dedicated to the different types of investigations in sight of specific goals researchers may have. The final section contains a recent approach based on nonparametric permutation tests which can be adopted in many practical situations. The field of orofacial pain and temporomandibular disorders is emerging as one of the most critical areas of clinical research in dentistry. Due to the complexity of clinical pictures, the multifactorial etiology, and the importance of psychosocial factors in all aspects of the TMD practice, clinicians often find it hard to appraise their modus operandi, and researchers must constantly increase their knowledge in epidemiology and medical statistics. Indeed, proper methodological designs are fundamental to reaching high levels of internal and external validity of findings in this specific area.

This book is the first to be devoted to translational research – which aims to expedite the transfer of knowledge gained in the lab to clinical practice – within the field of oral health. It is examined how basic sciences and basic research are providing new methods and materials that will enable clinicians to treat patients more effectively. Readers will gain a translational perspective on a variety of oral conditions and related systemic diseases. Individual chapters are devoted to such topics as dental biomaterials, implants, and tissue engineering. The importance of evidence-based research and the roles and comparative value of preclinical and clinical trials are also highlighted. Knowledge of translational and clinical research is essential in understanding how new inventions and developments are being accomplished, and what regulations and guidelines need to be taken into account when planning studies, and not forgetting the ethical aspects of any research. Translational Oral Health Research is the first book to be devoted entirely to the subject, and it will be of interest to both researchers and practitioners.