Research Guides: Bible: Bible Dictionaries

Dictionaries of the Whole Bible

Each of these works includes articles about Biblical persons, places, events, concepts, and institutions. The articles are normally brief; they note the most relevant Scriptural passages, but usually do not include any bibliographies.

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.
Edited by David Noel Freedman.
Eerdmans, 2000.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary.
Edited by Mark Allan Powell.
HarperOne, 2011.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Catholic Bible Dictionary
Edited by Scott Hahn.
Doubleday, 2009.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary.
Edited by Tremper Longman III.
Baker Book House, 2013.
Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary.
Edited by Trent C. Butler.
Broadman & Holman, 2003.
The Oxford Companion to the Bible.
Edited by Bruce M. Metzger and Michael D. Coogan.
Oxford University Press, 1993.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Dictionaries of Specific Parts of the Bible

Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch.
Edited by T. Desmond Alexander and David W. Baker.
InterVarsity Press, 2003.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Historical Books.
Edited by Bill T. Arnold and H.G.M. Williamson.
InterVarsity Press, 2005.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Prophets
Edited by Mark J. Boda.
InterVarsity Press, 2012.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Wisdom, Poetry, and Writings.
Edited by Tremper Longman, III, and Peter Enns.
InterVarsity Press, 2008.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Edited by Joel B. Green and Scot McKnight.
InterVarsity Press, 1992.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
Edited by Gerald F. Hawthorne and Ralph P. Martin.
InterVarsity Press, 1993.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments
Edited by Ralph P. Martin and Peter H. Davids.
InterVarsity Press, 1997.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of New Testament Background.
Edited by Craig A. Evans and Stanley E. Porter.
InterVarsity Press, 2000.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of the New Testament Use of the Old Testament.
Edited by G. K. Beale, D. A. Carson, Benjamin L. Gladd, and Andrew David Naselli.
Baker Academic, 2023