Bible

Edited by Francis Brown, S.R. Driver, and Charles A. Briggs.
Clarendon Press, 1962.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
"Brown, Driver, Briggs" provides brief English definitions for Hebrew words and cites the major places in Scripture where a particular word is used. Use another work for more detailed word studies.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by G. Johannes Botterweck and Helmer Ringgren.
Eerdmans, 1973 – 2006.
15 volumes.
In-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words of the OT. Each article includes an examination of the secular use of a term and an extensive examination of its theological significance. The index volume enables a student to look up the volume and page numbers of a particular English or Hebrew word, and then request a scan of those pages from their local theological library.

Edited by Willem A. VanGemeren.
Zondervan, 1997.
5 volumes.

Edited by Ernst Jenni and Claus Westermann.
Hendrickson, 1997.
3 volumes.
Articles on 330 Hebrew words.
Volume 3, shin - tav, is available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by R. Laird Harris et al.
Moody Press, 1980.
2 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Articles on 1400 Hebrew words, stressing their theological, not linguistic, understanding.

Edited by Walter Bauer et al. 2nd edition.
University of Chicago Press, 1979.
"Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich" is the standard one-volume lexicon to New Testament Greek; it is most useful for quick reference. It gives the history of a Greek word, indicating its use in classical and Hellenistic Greek literature, the Septuagint (the Greek version of the Old Testament), and later Greek, as well as the New Testament occurrences themselves. Another work should be used for more detailed word studies.

Edited by Gerhard Kittel.
Eerdmans, 1964-1976.
10 volumes.
"Kittel" is the standard work for biblical-Greek word studies. More than 2300 theologically significant New Testament words are examined. Each article includes a discussion of the etymology of the word, its usage in classical and Hellenistic Greek, in the Septuagint, and in the New Testament. When a word has a Hebrew parallel in the Old Testament, a brief treatment of the Hebrew word is given.

Edited by Christopher A. Beetham.
HarperCollins Christian Publishing, 2021.
An abridged version of the five volume set edited by Moisés Silva (below), but available online.

Edited by Moisés Silva.
Zondervan, 2014.
5 volumes.
Page or more length articles on each of the major theological terms of the New Testament. Each articles shows how the term and other related words are used in classical and secular Greek, the Old Testament, the Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic writings, and the NT. This work does not assume any knowledge of Hebrew or Greek. It is arranged in alphabetical order by the English (not Greek) word, and all Hebrew and Greek words are transliterated.

Edited by Horst Balz and Gerhard Schneider.
Eerdmans, 1990-1993.
3 volumes.
Includes many words not treated in Kittel (above).

Edited by Ceslas Spicq.
Hendrickson, 1994.
3 volumes.
Multi-page length articles examining the theological meaning of significant New Testament words. Arranged in alphabetical order by the Greek word, but with all Greek words transliterated. Extensive bibliographic footnotes.

Edited by Carroll Stuhlmueller.
Liturgical Press, 1996.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by Xavier Leon-Dufour. 2nd edition.
St. Paul Books, 1988.

Edited by Johannes B. Bauer.
Sheed and Ward, 1970.
3 volumes.