Research Guides: Bible: Dictionaries of Biblical Criticism

Dictionaries of Biblical Criticism

These works deal not with the content of the Bible but with critical methods of interpretation. Each includes articles which define these methods and articles on important biblical scholars.

Handbook of Biblical Criticism.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Richard N. Soulen. 4th edition.
Louisville, KY: Westminister John Knox Press, 2011.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Stanley E. Porter.
New York: Routledge, 2007.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kevin J. Vanhoozer, General Editor.
Grand Rapids, MI: Baker, 2005.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by R.J. Coggins and J.L. Houlden.
Philadelphia: Trinity, 1990.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Donald K. McKim. 2nd edition.
Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2007.
Handbook of Women Biblical Interpreters: A Historical and Biographical Guide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Marion Ann Taylor.
Grand Rapids, MI. : Baker Academic, 2012.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.