Skip to Main Content

John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

Medieval Studies

This guide lists the key brief sources--both online and in print--for students of the Middle Ages.

Latin

Dictionaries

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: English-Latin.
Edited by James Morwood.
3rd ed. Oxford UP, 2005.
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: Latin-English.
Edited by James Morwood.
3rd ed. Oxford UP, 2005.
Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD).
Brepolis, 2025.
Use this database to explore more than 90,000 headwomrds in 28 Latin dictionaries from antiquity and the middle ages to the present.
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin: With an Appendix of Latin Expressions Defined and Clarified.
By Leo F. Stelten.
Hendrickson, 1995.

Handbooks

Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographical Guide.
Edited by F.A.C. Mantello and A.G. Rigg.
Catholic University of America Press, 1996.
A Companion to the Latin Language.
Edited by James Clackson.
Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Oxford Handbook of Medieval Latin Literature.
Edited by Ralph J. Hexter and David Townsend.
Oxford UP, 2012.
Oxford Handbook of the Latin Bible.
Edited by H. A. G. Houghton.
Oxford UP, 2023.
Oxford Handbook of Latin Palaeography.
Edited by Frank T. Coulson and Robert G. Babcock.
Oxford UP, 2020.

Latin Redux: A Second-Year Grammar Review.
By Susan O. Shapiro.
University of Oklahoma Press, 2024.
The School of Rome: Latin Studies and the Origins of Liberal Education.
By W. Martin Bloomer.
University of California Press, 2011.
The Complete Latin Course.
By G.D.A. Sharpley.
2nd ed. Routledge, 2014.
Intensive Basic Latin: A Grammar and Workbook.
By Jean-François Mondon.
Routledge, 2015.
College Latin: An Intermediate Course. by Peter L. Corrigan
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
By Peter L. Corrigan.
Yale UP, 2015.
Intensive Intermediate Latin: A Grammar and Workbook.
By Jean-Francois Mondon.
Routledge, 2016.
New Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin.
By Andrew L. Sihler.
First published 1995. Oxford UP, 2023.
Mediaeval Latin.
Selected and edited by Karl Pomeroy Harrington.
Allyn and Bacon, 1925.

Medieval Latin.
By Carmen Cardelle de Hartmann and Dario Binotto.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics
Oxford UP, 2023.
Medieval Latin Arts of Poetry and Prose.
By Douglas Kelly.
Oxford Bibliographies - Medieval Studies
Oxford UP, 2019.
Hiberno-Latin Literature.
By Charles D. Wright.
Oxford Bibliographies - Medieval Studies
Oxford UP, 2018.
Latin Paleography, Editing, and the Transmission of Classical Texts.
By Maura Lafferty.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics
Oxford UP, 2018.
Medieval Sermons.
By Aidan Conti.
Oxford Bibliographies - British and Irish Literature
Oxford UP, 2023.
Medieval Songs.
By Vincent Corrigan.
Oxford Bibliographies - Medieval Studies
Oxford UP, 2019.

chat loading...