Research Guides: Medieval Studies: Journal Articles & Article Databases

Journal Articles & Article Databases

To find articles in scholarly journals, the best place to go is an article database. To find articles related to your subject area, go to www.library.utoronto.ca/, click the Databases button below the searchbox, select Article Databases from A to Z, and scroll down to your subject area (i.e. Medieval Studies). You’ll find a list of databases containing scholarly articles, as well as other online resources such as encyclopedias and research guides.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB).
(1967 - present)
IMB is the major article database for medieval studies. Although the database can be tricky to use, it includes features--such as a browsable range of subject terms and a manuscript index--that are well worth exploring.
Regesta Imperii.
(1829 - present)
Packed with more than 2.5-million records for book chapters, scholarly articles, and books, this free database covers a wide variety of topics related to the European Middle Ages with a focus on German and Roman emperors and kings.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials.
(1949 – present)
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Includes a “Scripture Reference” search which enables one to look for materials on a particular scriptural passage. Now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. For Catholic journal articles published between 1930 and 1980 use the print version of Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (St. Michael's 1st Floor Reference Area - AI 3 .C3).
Historical Abstracts.
(1842 - present)
Although Historical Abstracts covers only the late Middle Ages (from 1495 onwards), it is one of the best history databases at UofT and relatively easy to use.