Medieval Studies

By Johann Georg Theodor Grasse. Braunschweig: Klinkhardt & Bierman, 1972.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – G107 .G75 v.1-3]
A gazetteer of medieval Latin place names. Although this source is in German, it is still relatively accessible to an English speaker and is the most comprehensive listing of medieval place names available.

Edited by Paul E. Szarmach et al.. New York: Garland, 1998.
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DA129 .M43 1998]
Spanning from the Saxons’ arrival in the 5th century to the Tudor dynasty in the 16th century, the roughly 700 entries in this encyclopedia introduce students to the society and culture of mediaeval England. Various useful lists complement these entries: the Kings and Queens of England, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York, Popes, 590-1503 A.D., Musical and Liturgical Terms, and Architectural Terms.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

Edited by Michael Lapidge et al.. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DA152 .B58 1999]
Seven hundred articles relate the key people, places, activities and creations in Anglo-Saxon England between 450 to 1066 A.D.. In addition to a lengthy list of abbreviations, this source includes an appendix (Rulers of the English, c. 450-1066) and indexes of both contributors and major topics (e.g. learning and literature, abbesses or artifacts).
[For print copies, use the UofT catalogue].

Edited by Ronald H. Fritze and William B. Robinson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
[Robarts Library 4th Floor Reference Area – DA 175 .H56 2002X]
[Victoria University E.J. Pratt Library Reference Area – DA175 .H56 2002]

Edited by William W. Kibler and Grover A. Zinn.
New York: Garland, 1995.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DC33.2 .M44 1995]
In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

Edited by John M. Jeep. New York: Garland, 2001.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DD157 .M43 2001]
This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Edited by Seán Duffy. New York: Routledge, 2005.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DA933 .M43 2005]
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

By Jacqueline O’Brien and Peter Harbison. London: Weidenfeld and Nicolson, 1996.
[St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – DA920 .O25 1996 SMC]
[Robarts 4th Floor Reference Area – DA920 .O25 1996X]

Edited by Christopher Kleinhenz. New York: Routledge, 2004. 2 volumes.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DG443 .M43 2004]
Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

Edited by Norman Roth. New York: Routledge, 2003.
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DS124 .M386 2003]
Written by international scholars, this encyclopedia explores such themes as daily life (Clothing), people (Abravanel family), Christian-Jewish relations (Heretic, Jew as) and culture (Hebrew Language), among others. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
[For print copies, see the UofT Catalogue.]

By Haim Beinart. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992.
[Robarts Library 11th Floor – G1034 .B413 1992bX]

Edited by Philipp Pulsiano. New York: Garland, 1993.
[Robarts Library 4th Floor Reference Area – DL30 .M43 1993]

[Available in Print through the UofT Catalogue.]

By Brian Patrick McGuire. Copenhagen: C.A. Reitzels, 1994.
[Robarts Library 10th Floor – DL 147 .M34 1994]

Edited by R. Michael Gerti. New York: Routledge, 2003.
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – DP99 .M33 2003]
[Available in Print through the UofT Catalogue].
More than 800 articles cover Spain’s and Portugal’s peoples, events, works, institutions and other topics. Although not comprehensive—the encyclopedia focuses specifically on history, literature, language, religion, science, folklore and the arts—the book’s generally broad scope should help faculty as well as students. The encyclopedia includes a page on Arabic transliteration.