Medieval Studies

Edited by Colum Hourihane. Oxford University Press, 2012.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture covers art and architecture in Medieval Western Europe from the 6th to the early 16th centuries. Topics include biographies of major artists; cultures and styles (such as Anglo-Saxon, Carolingian, Coptic, Ottonian, and Viking art); books and illuminated manuscripts; architecture; and painting, tapestries, sculpture, mosaics, and reliquaries. Includes bibliographies and an index.

Edited by Conrad Rudolph.
Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2006.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – N5970 .C56 2006]
This book offers an in-depth introduction to the architecture, manuscript illumination and sculpture common in Northern Europe during the Middle Ages. Covering both conceptual topics (e.g. narrative) and thematic topics (e.g. image theory), as well as more traditional areas (e.g. painting and pilgrimage art), the thirty articles include substantial bibliographies, as well as an index.

By Marilyn Stokstad. Taylor & Francis, 2019.

This guide provides a selective list of major reference resources in the field of Medieval and Byzantine Art History. This includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes & bibliographies, covering art and architecture from the third to the fifteenth century in the Byzantine Empire, and to the twelfth century in the Latin West.

Edited by Pam J. Crabtree.
New York: Garland, 2001.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – D125 .M42 2001]
A guide to contemporary research in mediaeval archaeology, this encyclopedia hones in mainly on Western Europe, but it also includes articles on the Balkans, Byzantium, and Eastern Europe. Aside from simply browsing the entries alphabetically, or using the index, you can find entries organized by country (e.g. Brno under Czech Republic or Wat’s Dyke under England) and subject (e.g. barrows under Cemeteries and Burials).

Edited by Jennifer M. Feltman and Sarah Thompson. Routledge, 2019.

The introduction and seventeen chapters of this volume explore the longevity of medieval works of art and the aspect of time as a factor in shaping our interpretations of them. Includes chapters on works from Italy, France, England, Spain, and Germany.

By Herbert L. Kessler. University of Toronto Press, 2019.

Edited by Rene Huyghe. New York: Excalibur Books, 1981.
[St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – N5970 .A713 1981]
This work contains 36 articles and historical summaries each discussing a particular subject, including art in areas outside of Europe, such as Ethiopia, Persia and the Far East.

By Edward G. Tasker. London: B.T. Batsford, 1993.
[Robarts Library 4th Floor Reference Area – N6763 .T37 1993]

By John Block Friedman and Jessica M. Wegmann. New York: Garland, 1998.
[Victoria E.J. Pratt Library Ground Floor Reference Area – Z5933 .F75 1998]

By Calkins, Robert G. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
[St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – NA5453 .C35 1998 SMC]
[CD ROM - St. Michael’s Circulation Desk – NA5453 .C35 1998 CD-ROM SMC]

By Jaroslav Folda. Aldershot, Hamphire: Lund Humphries, 2008.
[St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – N6300 .F66 2008]
Richly illustrated with colour photographs and maps, this book tells of art and architecture crusaders created, sponsored, or commissioned between 1098 and 1291 in the Holy Land.