Graduate Theology

Produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum. Downers Grove, Illinois: IVP Academic, 2014. 3 volumes.
The most scholarly English-language dictionary of Christian antiquity with over 3200 signed articles each with an extensive bibliography.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. 3 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Major survey articles as well as shorter articles on lesser topics. Covers the Byzantine Empire from the 4th to the 15th centuries.

New York: Charles Scribners' Sons, 1982-1989. 13 volumes.
Articles (many of essay length) on all aspects of medieval scholarship.
All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login: Volume 1, AAC-AUG; Volume 2, AUG-BYZ; Volume 3, CAB-CRI; Volume 4, CRO-FAM; Volume 5, FAM-GRO; Volume 6, GRO-ITA; Volume 7, ITA-MAB; Volume 8, MAC-MYS; Volume 9, MYS-POL; Volume 10, POL-SCA; Volume 11, SCA-TEX; Volume 12, THA-ZWA; Volume 13, Index; Supplement 1.

Edited by André Vauchez.
Cambridge: James Clarke, 2005.
Over 3000 articles.

Edited by Hans J. Hillerbrand.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. 4 volumes.
More than 1200 scholarly articles. Many of the bibliographies are annotated and are divided into separate lists of primary and secondary sources.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by Ken Parry.
Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
This work covers Catholic and Orthodox, Byzantine and non-Byzantine, Chalcedonian and non-Chalcedonian traditions. Articles on geographical areas, important persons, theological issues, and liturgical items. Includes bibliographical references, mostly to English-language works.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.