Graduate Theology

Edited by Andrew Louth.
4th edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2022.
Over 6,000 brief articles, most with bibliographies, covering all aspects of Christian theology. Uses an historical approach.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

By Gerald O’Collins and Edward G. Farrugia.
3rd edition. New York: Paulist, 2013.
Precise paragraph-length definitions of theological terms, as well as some biblical, catechetical, ethical, historical, liturgical, and philosophical terms used in theological studies. Written from a Catholic perspective.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A similar print-only work is Saint Mary’s Press Glossary of Theological Terms, by John T. Ford.

Donald K. McKim.
2nd edition, revised and expanded.
Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 2014.
Single sentence definitions for almost 7000 terms. Written from a mainline Protestant perspective.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A similar print-only work is Essential Theological Terms, by Justo L. Gonzalez.

3rd edition. Edited by Daniel J. Treier and Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2017.
Essay-length articles on almost 1000 topics and deceased persons.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

2nd edition.
London Inter-Varsity Press, 2016.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by Joseph A. Komonchak.
Wilmington, DE: Glazier, 1987.
Over 200 essay-length articles which explain the official teaching of the Catholic Church as well as theological opinions held by individual scholars. Includes bibliographies.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by René Latourelle and Rino Fisichella.
New York: Crossroad, 1994.
This work includes some 220 articles, over half of which are written by professors of the Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome. Thirty of the articles are major essays (e.g. christology, Church, revelation) which serve as guides to the other articles in the dictionary.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A similar work is Handbook of Catholic Theology (online), edited by Wolfgang Beinert and Francis Schüssler Fiorenza.

Edited by Trevor A. Hart.
Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2000.
Over 300 articles on the key figures, theological movements, and significant texts that have shaped Christian thought. The choice of topics in the modern period is overwhelmingly Protestant.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

2nd edition. Edited by Karl Rahner and Herbert Vorgrimler.
New York: Crossroad, 1981.
"Brief explanations . . . of the most important concepts of modern Catholic dogmatic theology, for readers who are prepared to make an intellectual report" (Preface). Some editions of this work have the title Theological Dictionary.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.