Education Studies Research

• What is a theoretical framework? A practical answer (Lederman and Lederman 2015) 
• Understanding, Selecting, and Integrating a Theoretical Framework in Dissertation Research: Creating the Blueprint for Your "House"  (Grant and Osanloo 2014)
• Distinguishing Between Theory, Theoretical Framework, and Conceptual Framework: A Systematic Review of Lessons from the Field (Kivunja 2018)
• How to Locate Information on Education Theory & Theorists (Lakehead University—University Library 2024)

The Sage Research Methods Library is designed for university students in the health and social sciences. Through books, articles, videos, podcasts, and interactive content, you can explore topics such as designing research projects, understanding research methods, completing a literature review, conducting research, and writing your findings. Registration is optional. 

The Sage Research Methods Library includes a methods map—an interactive map of terms related to key concepts in research. Provides a quick overview of concepts such as research ethics, research design, data collection, qualitative and quantitative data analysis, and more. 

Additional resources for an overview of methods are provided below:

• Research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches (Creswell 2014)

Qualitative Methods

• Learn about qualitative methods: Sage's Qualitative Research Methods series, also known as Sage's "Little Blue Books" consists of 47 handbooks that cover topics such as discourse analysis, ethnography, participatory action research and more. 

Quantitative Methods

• Learn about quantitative methods: Browse through Sage's Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, also known as the "Little Green Books." Filter through 174 handbooks on topics such as regression, models, experimental design, survey data and many more.

Methods in Education 

• Research in education: Evidence-based inquiry (McMillan 2010)
• Educational research: An introduction (Gall 2007)
• Research Methods in Education (Check and Schutt 2012)
• The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research — Volumes 1 and 2 (Race and Vidal-Hall 2019)
• Conducting educational research: Guide to completing a thesis, dissertation, or action research project (Boudah 2020)
• Doing educational research: Overcoming challenges in practice (Hoveid et al. 2019)
• Ethnography in Education (Mills 2013)
• Social Network Analysis and Education: Theory, Methods & Applications (Carolan 2014)
• Systematic Reviews in Educational Research Methodology, Perspectives and Application (Zawacki-Richter et al. 2020)

Indigenous and Decolonizing Methods 

• Indigenous and decolonizing studies in education: Mapping the long view (Linda Tuhiwai Smith, Eve Tuck, K. Wayne Yang)
• Decolonizing methodologies: Research and Indigenous peoples (Smith 2012)
• Decolonizing educational research: From ownership to answerability (Patel 2016)
• Research is ceremony: Indigenous research methods (Wilson 2008)
• Handbook of critical and Indigenous methodologies (Denzin et al. 2014) 
• Place in research: Theory, methodology, and methods (Tuck 2015)
• Research and reconciliation: Unsettling ways of knowing through Indigenous relationships (Wilson et al. 2019) 
• Research for Indigenous survival: Indigenous research methodologies in the behavioral sciences (Lambert 2014)

Social Justice and Action Research Methods 

• Research Methods for Social Justice and Equity in Education (Strunk and Locke 2019) 
• The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education (Mertler 2019) 
• Action Research in Education (McAteer 2013)
• Three approaches to qualitative research through the ARtS: Narratives of teaching for social justice and community (Moon 2019)
• Curriculum Action Research (McKernan 1996)

International and Global Research Methods 

• International Handbook of Research on Teachers' Beliefs (Fives and Gill 2014)
• Researching the Global Education Industry: Commodification, the Market and Business Involvement (Amaral et al. 2019)
• Understanding Critical Race Research Methods and Methodologies: Lessons from the Field (DeCuir-Gunby 2018)
• Global Education Policy, Impact Evaluations, and Alternatives: The Political Economy of Knowledge Production (Edwards Jr. 2018)