Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Studies Research

This guide provides resources for educational research aimed at students enrolled in research programs at OISE.

Design Your Research Project

This section of the Education Studies Research Guide outlines tools, books and videos to help you plan and design your research. It assists you in answering questions such as:

  • How do I define my research topic and determine my research question(s)?

  • What steps are required to answer my research question(s)?

  • What theoretical or conceptual frameworks can inform my research approach?

  • What research methods are appropriate for my topic or question(s)?

Research is not a linear process. It is a cyclical, iterative journey that may require you to return to these questions, reconsider your methods and frameworks, and redefine your topic at any given stage as new insights and concepts emerge during the research process.

Research Planning Tools

Sage Research Methods Library

The Sage Research Methods Library is designed for university students in the health and social sciences. Through books, articles, videos, podcasts, and interactive content, you can explore topics such as designing research projects, understanding research methods, completing a literature review, conducting research, and writing your findings. Registration is optional. Tools include:

  • Methods map: An interactive map of terms related to key concepts in research. Provides a quick overview of concepts such as research ethics, research design, data collection, qualitative and quantitative data analysis, and more.

  • Project planner: An interactive planning tool that can be used throughout the research process. You can follow the planner from the beginning or jump between relevant sections.

  • Learn about quantitative methods: Browse through Sage's Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, also known as the "Little Green Books". Filter through 174 handbooks on topics such as regression, models, experimental design, survey data and many more.

  • Learn about qualitative methods: Sage's Qualitative Research Methods series, also known as Sage's "Little Blue Books" consists of 47 handbooks that cover topics such as discourse analysis, ethnography, participatory action research and more. 

 

University of Toronto Libraries: Essential Research Skills

University of Toronto Libraries offers an Essential Research Skills series of four workshops, which can be taken individually or together for Co-Curricular Record (CCR) credit. The workshops run several times a year and University of Toronto students may sign up on an ongoing basis. An accompanying Essential Research Skills guide covers the content of all four workshops, including getting started (understanding your assignment and narrowing your research topic), finding scholarly sources, choosing the best sources, and citing and organizing your sources.

Find Books: Introduction to Research & Methods in Education Studies

Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry

by James H. McMillan, Sally Schumacher
Publication Date: 2010
Call Number: 370.72 M167R 2010

Educational Research: An Introduction

by Meredith D. Gall; Walter R. Borg; Joyce P. Gall
Call Number: 370.72 G162E 2007
Publication Date: 2007

Research Methods in Education

by Joseph W. Check; Russell K. Schutt
Publication Date: 2011

The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research

by Dominic Wyse; Neil Selwen; Emma Smith; Larry E. Suter
Publication Date: 2017

Conducting Educational Research: Guide to Completing a Thesis, Dissertation, or Action Research Project

by Daniel J. Boudah.
Call Number: 370.72 B756C 2020
Publication Date: 2020

Doing Educational Research: Overcoming Challenges in Practice

by Marit Honerød Hoveid
Call Number: 370.72 D657
Publication Date: 2019

Ethnography in Education

by David Mills, Missy Morton
Publication Date: 2013

Social Network Analysis and Education

by Brian V. Carolan
Publication Date: 2013

Systematic Reviews in Educational Research: Methodology, Perspectives and Application

edited by Olaf Zawacki-Richter, Michael Kerres, Svenja Bedenlier, Melissa Bond, and Katja Buntins.
Publication Date: 2020

Find Books: Qualitative and Quantitative Research

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches

by John W. Cresswell
Call Number: 300.72 C923R 2014
Publication Date: 2013

Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: Choosing Among Five Approaches

by John W. Cresswell; Cheryl-Anne Poth
Call Number: 300.72 C923Q 2018
Publication Date: 2017

Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research

by John W. Cresswell
Call Number: 370.72 E24 2019

Publication Date: 2018

Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research

by Timothy Teo (Editor)
Call Number: 370.72 H2364
Publication Date: 2014

Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education

by Sara Delamont (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012

Fundamentals of Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide

by Kakali Bhattacharya
Publication Date: 2017

Qualitative Research in Education: A User's Guide

by Marilyn Litchman
Call Number: 370.72 L699Q 2013
Publication Date: 2012

Interviewing As Qualitative Research: A Guide for Researchers in Education and the Social Sciences

by Irving Seidman; Lori Helman
Call Number: 300.723 S458i 2013
Publication Date: 2013

Find Books: Indigenous & Decolonizing Methodologies

Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education: Mapping the Long View

by Linda Tuhiwai-Smith (Editor); Eve Tuck (Editor); K. Wayne Yang (Editor)
Call Number: 371.829 I398
Publication Date: 2018

Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples

by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Call Number: 305.80072 S654D
Publication Date: 2012

Research is Ceremony: Indigenous Research Methods

by Shawn Wilson
Call Number: 305.80072 W746R
Publication Date: 2009

Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies

by Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor); Linda Tuhiwai Smith (Editor); Norman K. Denzin (Editor)
Call Number: GN345 .H364 2008X
Publication Date: 2008

Place in Research: Theory, Methodology, and Methods

by Eve Tuck and Marcia McKenzie
Publication Date: 2015

Research and Reconciliation: Unsettling Ways of Knowing Through Indigenous Relationships

edited by Shawn Wilson, Andrea V. Breen, and Lindsay DuPré
Publication Date: 2019

Research for Indigenous Survival

by Lori Lambert
Call Number: 305.800721 L2221R
Publication Date: 2014

Find Books: Social Justice & Action Research Methods

Research Methods for Social Justice and Equity in Education

by Kamden K. Strunk (Editor); Leslie Ann Locke (Editor)
Call Number: 379.26072 A873R
Publication Date: 2019

The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education

by Craig A. Mertler (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019

Action Research in Education

by Mary McAteer
Publication Date: 2013

Curriculum Action Research

by James McKernan
Call Number: 375.001072 M157C 1996
Publication Date: 1996

Find Books: International & Global Research Methods

International Handbook of Research on Teachers' Beliefs

by Helenrose Fives (Editor); Michele Gregoire Gill (Editor)
Call Number: 371.102 I597
Publication Date: 2014

Researching the Global Education Industry: Commodification, the Market and Business Involvement

by Marcelo Parreira do Amaral, Gita Steiner-Khamsi, Christiane Thompson
Publication Date: 2019

Understanding Critical Race Research Methods and Methodologies: Lessons from the Field

by Jessica T. DeCuir-Gunby (Editor); Thandeka K. Chapman (Editor); Paul A. Schutz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018