HPS 318 Research: History of Medicine from Antiquity to the Renaissance

E.J. Pratt Library's Classics of Medicine Library collection consists of books and pamphlets with reproductions of primary sources. This collection, which was donated by Dr. Michael Hutcheon, covers a wide range of topics related to the history of medicine and key figures in that history.

Books and pamphlets that might be of interest include:

• The Byrth of Mankynde, Otherwyse Named the Womans Booke, first published in 1545, relates to women and medicine and the history of obstetrics and contains anatomical illustrations.
• On the Usefulness of the Parts of the Body (volumes I and II) is the first complete English translation of Galen's work, which was originally published in 175 A.D.
• Selected Medical Writings of Moses Maimonides contains four treatises by Maimonides, who lived from 1135-1204 and was the private physician to the Sultan of Egypt.

How to find it

To find material in this collection in the library catalogue, use the Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch. Under Search Filters, select "Author/Creator" from the drop-down options and search for "Classics of Medicine Library". In the right hand corner of the Advanced Search, limit the Search Scope to "Victoria University E.J. Pratt Library". 

Materials in this collection are located in two places in the library. Books in the Classics of Medicine Library collection are located in the QP-RD call number range in the ground floor stacks. Pamphlets in the collection are located under CML in the Pamphlet Collection on the ground floor. For their precise location, please ask library staff at the front desk. 

This page was created by Marie Song, Graduate Reference Assistant at Pratt Library.