A Reference source or tools can provide context for your research topic, including names, dates, events and related resources or further reading. They are a great place to start your research.
For more information, see:
What are Reference Sources? UofT Libraries
Check terms, facts, timelines, context, terminologies, biographies, etc.
The Cambridge Illustrated History of The Middle Ages. [Volume] III: 1250-1520. Ed. Robert Fossier. Transl. by Sarah Hanbury-Tension. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press. 1986-1997. (Pratt Reference: CB351 .M7813 1986)
-Part 1.3: "Different Values and Authorities -- Science Rattles its Chains" by Jacques Verger.
The New Cambridge Modern History. 14 vols. Gen.Ed. John Peter Charles Roach. 1957-1979. 1st ed.
(Pratt Reference: D208 .N4; Electronic Copy of 2nd ed. available via Cambridge Histories Online)
[Volume] I:The Renaissance 1493-1520. Ed. G.R. Potter. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press. 1957.(Electronic Copy, 2nd ed.)
-Chapter 3: "Fifteenth Century Civilisation and the Renaissance" by Hans Baron.
[Volume] XIV: Atlas. Ed. H.C. Darby & Harold Fullard. Cambridge: Cambridge U Press. 1970. (Pratt Reference: D208 .N4 v.14)
-p.2-3: "The Old World, c. 1500."
Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine. Eds. W.F.Bynum and Roy Porter. 2 vols. London: Routledge. 1993.
(Electronic Copy ; Pratt Reference: R133 .C64 1993)
-Vol. 1: "Medical Care" by Guenter B. Risse; "Arab-Islamic Medicine" by Lawrence I. Conrad
-Vol. 2: "The Hospital" by Lindsay Granshaw
Encyclopedia of the Black Death. Joseph P. Byrne. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. 2012.
(Electronic Copy ; Pratt Reference: RC172 .B98 2012)
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Ed. Paul F. Grendler. 6 vols. New York: Scribner's. 1999.
(Pratt Reference: CB361 .E52 1999)
- "Magic and Astrology" by Brian P. Copenhaver
- "Medicine" by Andrew Wear: includes "Hospitals and Town Physicians."
Handbook to Life in the Medieval World. Eds. Madeleine Pelner Cosman and Linda Gale Jones. 3 vols. New York: Facts on File. 2008. (Pratt Reference: CB351 .C625 2008)
-"Chapter 7: Medicine, Science, and Technology" includes Europe, the Islamic World, and more)
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: an Encyclopedia. Eds. Thomas Glick, Steven J. Livesey, Faith Wallis. New York: Routledge. 2005. (Pratt Reference: Q124.97 M43 2005)
-"Hospitals" by Brenda Gardenour
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. Ed. John L. Esposito. 6 vols. Oxford: Oxford Univ. Press. 2009.
(Pratt Reference: DS35.53 .O948 2009)
-"Medicine--Traditional Practice" by Lawrence I. Conrad
Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. Ed. Stephen Lock, John Last, and George Dunea. Oxford : Oxford Univ. Press. 2001. (Electronic Copy; Pratt Reference)