Research guides: South Asian studies: Articles

South Asia-specific databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- major database for South Asian studies
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- major index to Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world
- covers 1906+

Subject-specific databases

Search a database that is related to your topic. Our Subjects A-Z list organizes all of the topics studied at the University of Toronto.

Examples:

For the rights of women in India, try a women and gender studies database
For Islamic music in Pakistan, try a music database
For the history of Sri Lankan emigration to Canada, try a historical or Canadian database

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- major database for sociology and related topics
- includes works in 30 different languages from about 55 countries
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- major database for world history from 1450 to the present
- excludes Canada and the United States, which are covered by America: History and Life
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- major index to journals in political science, international relations, law, and public administration
- indexes over 1,600 primarily English-language journals, published from around the world

Dutch Studies on South Asia, Tibet and classical Southeast Asia

General databases

These interdisciplinary databases are so large and broad that you are likely to find something relevant. These are good tools for broad, general search topics.

Summon
- includes resources from over 80% of the library's databases
- works like Google, but indexing not as strong

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- major multi-disciplinary database
- especially strong in humanities and social sciences
- try the advanced search for superior results
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences
- will not include the most recent 3-5 years yet
- for current research, try Summon
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- multi-disciplinary database
- part of Web of Science

Research Guides

South Asian studies

South Asia-specific databases

Subject-specific databases

General databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us