Skip to main content

Learning Objects, Open Courseware & Open Textbooks

Selective list of major learning object repositories, sources of open university courseware, and selected learning object resources licensed by the University of Toronto.

Canadian Healthcare Education Commons

The Canadian Healthcare Education Commons is an interactive repository sponsored by the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada. It aims to contain materials for all facets of the health sciences and currently holds more than 600 learning objects and is growing.

HONmedia

Health On the Net presents HONmedia a repository containing more than 6800 medical images and videos on more than 1700 themes. HONmedia is indexed and classified using MeSH headings.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of healthcare education resources. HEAL provides access to over 23 000 images, videos, presentations, audio files and animations designed to support the teaching of the health sciences.

Henry Stewart Talks

The Henry Stewart Talks is a growing collection of over 1000 presentations by leading scientists in the biomedical and life sciences. You can browse talks by series such as Obesity, Advances in Asthma, Vector Borne Diseases and others, or search via keyword.

Jarvis Physical Examination and Health Assessment Series

The Physical Examination and Health Assessment series contains over five hours of full-motion video on how to conduct physical exams, with developmental and cultural considerations highlighted throughout.

Knowledge Weavers Project

Hosted by the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, the Knowledge Weavers Project produces a variety of materials to assist with health sciences instruction. This includes: animations, interactive cases, image collections, tutorials and other tools.

MedEDPortal

MedEdPORTALis a repository sponsored by the Association for American Medical Coleges (AAMC) and contains peer-reviewed materials designed for medical and dental educators. It includes videos, lectures, tutorials and articles and all material is available freely on the web.

New England Journal of Medicine - Medical Videos

NEJM's Videos in Clinical Medicine provides explanatory videos of procedures, technologies and techniques employed in clinical medicine. This is licensed by University of Toronto Libraries

Tough Talk

Tough Talk is a toolbox of resources developed to assist medical educators who are teaching ethics and communication. The toolbox includes resources for helping clinicians set personal goals, optimizing the dynamics of small groups, providing effective feedback and tips for working through common teaching challenges.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)

  • Repository - part of National Science Digital Library
  • Subjects: biochemistry, physiology, anatomy, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, and allied health
  • Over 22,300 materials for health sciences educators and learners
  • Content includes: tutorials, videos, images, animation, case studies, exams, exercises, lectures
  • Peer-reviewed collection contains 200 materials
  • Searchable through the National Science Digital Library http://nsdl.org/
  • Can also browse using MeSH headings

MedEDPortal

  • Repository
  • Sponsor: Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
  • Subjects: all aspects of academic medicine and dentistry. Content is peer-reviewed before deposit is accepted.
  • Over 1,000 items
  • Content includes: mostly videos, cases, tutorials, lectures
  • Browsable by subject area, also searchable

MedlinePlus

  • links to high quality web resources
  • interactive tutorials & videos explain procedures and conditions in easy-to-read language
  • extensive drug information
  • preformulated searches of the MEDLINE/PubMed database, which allow you to find references to latest health professional articles on your topic

Don't Forget!

Check the Multidisciplinary tab for other Health & Life Sciences-related learning objects and courseware