Skip to main content

Learning Objects, Open Courseware & Open Textbooks

Selective list of major learning object repositories, sources of open university courseware, and selected learning object resources licensed by the University of Toronto.

Connexions

Connexions, from Rice University, contains more than 17,000 learning objects or modules in its repository and over 1000 collections (textbooks, journal articles, etc.) Most are made available freely under a Creative Commons license.

MIT OpenCourseWare

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

OCW Consortium

OpenCourseWare Consortium Courses provide high quality interdisciplinary planning and evaluation tools, as well as content, for college and university level courses. The Consortium site allows you to search and browse via subject, language and source of courseware (participating institution).

The Open University - Learning Space

The Open University's Learning Space provides materials for over 600 of the University's courses covering a wide range of interdisciplinary material. This includes: Arts and Humanities, Business and Management, Engineering and Technology, Health and Social Care, among others.

iTunes U

iTunes U is Apple's new foray in OpenCourseWare. To use this you must have an Apple device and the iTunes U application. iTunes U currently hosts more than 500 000 lectures, books, and videos, along with materials from Stanford, Yale, Oxford, MoMa and more.

FADIS

FADIS is learning management and courseware system developed for image based teaching of art and architecture. The goal of FADIS is the creation of a freely available common repository and delivery system for education and research available to contributing institutions.

MERLOT

The MERLOT Collection contains over 33,000 Teaching and Learning Materials in: academic support, arts, business, education, humanities, mathematics, science and technology and the social sciences.

Open Education Consortium

The Open Education Consortium is a resource pool and search engine that currently indexes open course materials from 18 global universities.

TBYResources

TBYResources contains a variety of open multimedia, web 2.0, digital literacy and education content resources. It also contains class resources divided by subjects including: math, science, English, drama, history and so on.

The Open Syllabus Project

The Open Syllabus Project is an effort to make the intellectual judgment embedded in syllabi relevant to broader explorations of teaching, publishing, and intellectual history.  The project has collected over one million syllabi, has extracted citations and other metadata from them, and is now pleased to make the Syllabus Explorer publicly available as a means of exploring this corpus.