Research guides: Medicine: Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs)

Canada

CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines : This Canadian Medical Association database provides access to nearly 2000 clinical practice guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada. It offers a number of search and browse capabilities, including a search by MeSH terms under the Basic Search option.

British Columbia
BCGuidelines are developed by the Guidelines and Protocols Advisory Committee (GPAC), a joint committee of the BCMA and the Ministry of Health.
Alberta
Toward Optimized Practice (TOP) helps Alberta physicians and the teams with whom they work implement evidence-based practices to enhance the care of their patients.
Cancer Care Ontario
Program in Evidence-Based Care (PEBC) produces evidence-based guidance documents in partnership with clinical experts in all major cancer disease sites and across all clinical programs and modalities.
Therapeutics Initiative - Evidence Based Drug Therapy
Provides physicians and pharmacists with up-to-date, evidence-based, practical information on prescription drug therapy.
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)
Unbiased, evidence-based information on drugs, devices, health care systems and best practices.
Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada
Collection of Clinical Practice Guidelines.
Disease Prevention and Control Guidelines
From the Public Health Agency of Canada.
Best Practice Guidelines
From the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario.
Canadian Cardiovascular Society

United States

ACP Clinical Recommendations
American College of Physicians - ACP develops three different types of clinical recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Guidance Statements, and Best Practice Advice.
AIDS Info
Federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines.
APA Clinical Practice Guidelines
APA practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Search the Prevention Guidelines Database.
Link updated 01/14/2019
Community Preventive Services Task Force
Population health interventions from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
Infectious Disease Society of America
Johns Hopkins Antibiotic, Diabetes and HIV Guides
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
Systematic Evidence Reviews and Clinical Practice Guidelines.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
US Preventive Services Task Force
The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems.
American College of Cardiology
American Gastroenterological Association

International Guidelines

Australian Government. NHMRC Publications
From National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia.
Link updated 01/14/2019
UK - eGuidelines
eGuidelines.co.uk provides essential information and services for healthcare professionals involved or interested in the development and implementation of guidelines, formularies, clinical pathways, and commissioning services.
UK - NICE Guidance
From the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, NICE quality standards are a set of specific, concise statements that act as markers of high quality, cost effective patient care, covering the treatment and prevention of different diseases and conditions.
International Guideline Library
From Guidelines International Network. Database is searchable but membership is required to view full text.

Search for guidelines in medical databases

Medline (OVID)

Once the search is complete, click on "More Limits"; scroll down to "Publication Types"; click on "Practice Guideline"; click on "Limit A Search"; the limit applies to the last search, unless otherwise specified
Link updated 01/04/2019

PubMed

Click on "Limits" tab; under "Publication Types", click on "Practice Guideline"; this will limit every subsequent search to practice guidelines, therefore, remember to remove the limit if no longer searching for guidelines

EMBASE

Use the heading "Practice Guidelines"
Link updated 01/04/2019

Trip

Use the "Guidelines" bars in green on the right to see practice guidelines from around the world
Link updated 01/04/2019

Search for guidelines in the library catalogue

Example 1: neurology practice guidelines

Example 2: clinical guidelines

Example 3: family practice guidelines

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Medicine

Canada

United States

International Guidelines

Search for guidelines in medical databases

Search for guidelines in the library catalogue

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us