Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACMB01: Find Resources for your Final Essay

A library guide to assist you in finding the resources you need to complete your ACMB01 assignments

Recommended Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for Film and Arts

Literature, Criticism, Sociology

Useful Online Literary Reference Sources

The following Encycolpedias, Guides and Dictionaries will be useful to students wishing to further explore literary themes, theories or criticial perspectives.  They are also useful for learning more about specific literary terms

Literary Encyclopedia

The Literary Encyclopedia is an expanding global literary reference work written by over 1850 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides more than 4800 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics and grows by over 60 articles per month. The Encyclopedia offers good coverage of canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism 

Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms

Containing over 1,000 of the most troublesome literary terms encountered by students and general readers, this gem of a book gives clear and often witty explanations to terms such as hypertext, multi-accentuality, and postmodernism. It is fully updated to include terms that have become prominent in the last few years, including antanaclasis, cohesion, focalization, log-rolling, and raisonneur. Terms from languages and literature other than English are given, as are pronunciation guides for over 200 difficult terms.