Research Guides: Theology Resources: Find Journal Articles in Databases

1. Featured Databases (UTORid required)

Use journal databases for articles when researching a subject or topic:

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
The major international index for religion, ATLA covers all scholarly fields of religion. Journals represent all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and include numerous language groups. A unique search option is the ability to search for information on Scripture passages.

International Medieval Bibliography

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database which includes many full-text e-journals. In most cases, the most recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available.

New Testament Abstracts (select EBSCOhost Web, then N for New Testament Abstracts)
An indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Includes abstracts of articles, reviews, and software and more than 22,000 book summaries. Each year, an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion in New Testament Abstracts Online.
Old Testament Abstracts (select EBSCOhost Web, then O for Old Testament Abstracts)
Provides Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Part of the Ebsco suite of databases, along with the ATLA Religion Database. Click on "Choose Databases" at the top of the search boxes in the ATLA database and check the box beside OT Abstracts and/ or New Testament Abstracts
ProQuest
An interdisciplinary database covering a wide range of subjects

1. A Search the ATLA Religion database using the Scripture Tool (and other Atla tutorials)

Atla tutorials
For more tutorials to search Atla Religion Database

1.B Search JSTOR, an interdisciplinary, full text database

2. Find a specific article

If you want to find a particular article for which you have the citation information, place quotation marks around the main title and add the author's surname.

3. Other Resources

While it is recommended to first search the indexes and databases through UTL, the following free sites for journals can be used as a supplement:

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Theological Journals Search
While TJS is certainly no substitute for commercial databases, one of its advantages is that it allows searchers to quickly locate reviews of recently published books and articles on current events that our databases typically don't have yet due to the lag time that indexing requires. It also includes many titles that have never found their way into DOAJ, as TJS includes both peer-reviewed and non-refereed titles. It attempts to cover all Christian traditions and other religions are represented as well. It has languages besides English too, so searches in non-English languages will often work too.

Research Guides

Theology Resources

1. Featured Databases (UTORid required)

1. A Search the ATLA Religion database using the Scripture Tool (and other Atla tutorials)

1.B Search JSTOR, an interdisciplinary, full text database

2. Find a specific article

3. Other Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us