Research guides: Theology Resources: Other Resources

Websites

AGAPE: mapping Greek patristics in the early modern book world AGAPE is an open-access database which aims to map the reception of the Greek Church Fathers in print throughout early modern Europe.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Atla Digital Library Find archival, historical, and special collections in religion and theology from libraries, religious institutions, and archives worldwide.
ATLA Websites on Religion Guide A growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion
Bible Gateway Includes IVP New Testament Commentaries
Bible Odyssey Created by the Society of Biblical Literature, the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible based on the Humanities’ core disciplines.
Bible Study Tools Contains Commentaries, Concordances, Bible Translations, Parallel Bibles, Interlinear Bibles, Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Lexicons, etc.
Calvinism Resource Database This website/ database provides access to articles, essays, and lectures dealing with John Calvin and Calvinism from the 16th century to the present.
Center for Reformed Theology and Apologetics Includes numerous historic church documents: creeds, confessions, catechisms, Calvin's Institutes, etc.
China Historical Christian Database A digital tool for the study of Chinese Christianity from 1550 to 1950.
Globethics.net Online digital library on applied ethics and theology
Greek and Hebrew Interlinear Bible and Concordance Look up English words to find Greek and Hebrew passages. In any verse displayed you can click on the Greek or Hebrew word to see its entry in a lexicon (Brown, Driver, and Briggs’ Gesenius Lexicon and the New Testament Greek Lexicon based on Thayer’s and Smith’s Bible Dictionary). Greek entries are keyed to the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, and Hebrew entries are keyed to the Theological Word Book of the Old Testament.
Online Theology Resources Includes ancient and classical contexts; biblical studies; church history; Methodism; preaching and worship; religion and theology
Oxford Biblical Studies Online Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.
Religious Studies Web Guide Focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion.
Studying Biblical Hebrew--Assisting You to Learn
Theology on the Web
Virtual Religion Index The site analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Links are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within.
Websites on Religion A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources..., including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.

Using Primary Sources on the Web

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) guide to finding primary sources
American Library Association's guide to using primary sources on the web Defines what primary sources are and provides information on how to find, evaluate and cite primary sources on the web.

Evaluating websites

While many sites on the Internet are not academically reputable or scholarly, there are good resources on the Internet. The key is to evaluate a site by asking questions such as the following:

Authority: who created the web site? Are her/ his qualifications and credentials listed? Is the author affiliated with a reputable institution or organization?
Audience: who is this web site written for?
Bias: is the author's point objective and impartial? Is the information factual rather than her/ his opinion?
Currency: when was the web site updated? How old is the information?
Links: where does the website take you?

Research Guides

Theology Resources

Websites

Using Primary Sources on the Web

Evaluating websites

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us