Quickcite is a citation tool for various format.
The following sites have tips on the type of information you need for you citing images in various citation styles: MLA, APA & Chicago / Turabian style:
There are a variety of Citation Managers to choose from - full list of Citation Managers. However, Zotero is an open source citation manager that is recommended by Innis College Librarian. Feel free to email Kate if you want to discuss the other citation managers.
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a program that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects to your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.
Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.
|
Tools |
RefWorks |
Zotero |
Mendeley |
EndNote Basic |
EndNote Desktop (Version 20) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
What does it look like? |
|||||
|
How much does it cost? |
Free while at U of T Can migrate the account to another institution. |
Free and open source |
Free for everyone |
Free |
Current U of T and UHN Students and Staff with TCard or UHN ID; may purchase Single License for personal or departmental use.
|
|
How do I get it? |
Downloads available upon logging in, under Tools menu. |
Web-only |
OR Purchase from EndNote website (check for 30-day free trial option - current student price is $175 CAD). |
||
|
How does it work? |
Web-based interface accessible anywhere. |
Plugin for Firefox or desktop client which can be linked to Chrome or Safari. Backup & sync via web-based account accessible anywhere. |
Desktop client (Win / Mac / Linux). |
Web-based interface. Register through Web of Science. Accessible anywhere. |
Desktop client (Win/Mac). |
|
Will it work on my computer? |
RefGrab-It plugin or bookmarklet for IE & Firefox. Write-N-Cite plugin for Word (Win/Mac). |
Plugin for Word (Win/Mac), OpenOffice, & LibreOffice (Win/Mac/Linux).
Also works with Google Docs.
|
Web Importer bookmarklet for most browsers.
Plugin for Word (Win/Mac) and OpenOffice (Win/Mac/Linux).
|
Web Capture bookmarklet for most browsers or Firefox add-on.
Cite While You Write plugin for Word (Win/Mac).
|
Cite While You Write plugin for Word (Win/Mac), OpenOffice (Win), & Pages (Mac).
|
|
Can I use it on my mobile device? |
Website only |
||||
|
Can I save citations while I browse? |
Yes: direct export from many popular databases, manual import using RIS/BiBTeX, or grab citations from some websites using RefGrab-It plugin/bookmarklet |
Yes: browser plugin grabs citations from many popular databases, manual import using RIS/BiBTeX |
Yes: grab citations from popular databases using Web Importer |
Yes: direct export from some databases, manual import using RIS |
Yes: direct export from some databases, manual import using ENL / RIS |
|
Can I search external databases? |
Yes |
Limited: ISBN, DOI, or PMID lookup |
No (coming soon) |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Can I attach PDFs or other files? |
Yes |
Yes: can automatically grab PDFs with citations, add notes and other attachments, retrieve citation data for PDFs, and archive web pages |
Yes: can organize and annotate PDFs, and retrieve citation data for PDFs |
No |
Yes: System Find Full Text embeds PDFs to your citations where available. |
|
Can I run a full text search on my account? |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Yes |
|
What citation styles are available? |
|||||
|
Can I collaborate with others? |
Yes: can share folders publicly or privately with RefShare, and share account to collaborate on papers |
Yes: can share references through public or private group libraries |
Yes: can share references through public or private groups |
Yes: can share references privately via groups |
Yes: share references with or without PDFs. |
|
Can I use it after I leave UofT? |
Contact UofT RefWorks admin for more info |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Where can I find more help? |
