Research guides: Nutritional Sciences Resources: Databases and Journals

Finding journals at the U of T Libraries

This is a sample list to get you started, and there are thousands more options for finding journal articles at the University of Toronto about Nutritional Science. To search for more, and in related areas of study, visit to the Library Catalogue, which includes fill text for the majority of e-journals (and see our Getting Started with Searching page for tips to point you in the right direction!)

Key Food and Nutrition Databases

Search databases for journal articles, book reviews, proceedings and technical reports in a variety of subject disciplines related to nutrition.

BIOSIS Previews
Covers aspects of nutrition relating to the biological and life sciences. Combine terms using nutrition as a "Major Concept" or use the Concept Code List to identify subtopics, e.g. Lipid Nutrition - CC13222.
CAB Abstracts
Citation information includes abstracts to research in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
CINAHL
Provides access to the literature of the nursing, allied, and rehabilitation sciences. An excellent source for articles on nutritional therapy, hospital nutrition, nutritional support for seniors, and nutritional counselling and assessment.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
The National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes over 100,000 current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S.
Embase
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
FoodData Central
The U.S. Department of Agriculture's FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
iPortal
The iPortal (Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool) has a section specifically devoted to nutrition which includes articles, e-books, field notes, oral history, and more.
Medline
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Nutrition topics focus on preventive medicine, biochemical and genetic studies, and nutrition policy and management. Use medical subject headings (MeSH) to identify articles on your topic.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
Scopus
Keywords are provided by authors or pulled from Medline and Embase. Sort results by "Citations" to see top cited articles. Click number in Citations column to view authors who have cited a given article. A major multidisciplinary database.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Point of Care Tools

BMJ Best Practice
A point of care tool, which takes you quickly to evidence with step by step guidance on prognosis, diagnosis, treatment.
DynaMed Plus
Tool for physicians and other medical professionals providing evidence-based clinical decision support.
Natural Medicines
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
UpToDate
UpToDate provides topic-level summaries, with the largest topic coverage of all point-of-care tools. NOTE: UpToDate is available to current U of T students only