Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Nutritional Sciences Resources

Education & Liaison Librarian

Additional Help

computer screen with profile picture, magnifying glass, and newspaper article

Gerstein Virtual Help Desk

Visit us on the Virtual Reference Desk for additional assistance!

Askchat logo

Ask Chat

We can help you with:

  • Getting information about library services during COVID-19 times
  • Finding resources about a topic
  • Locating a specific book or article
  • Understanding and using library services, resources, and tools effectively

Finding books at the U of T Libraries

This is a sample list to get you started, and there are thousands more books at the University of Toronto about Nutritional Science. To search for more, and in related areas of study, visit to the Library Catalogue (and see our Getting Started with Searching page for tips to point you in the right direction!)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition

tan book with red and navy stripe with title: Oxford Dictionary of Food and Nutrition

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition: Caballero, Benjamin, Finglas,  Paul, Toldra, Fidel: 9780122270550: Nutrition: Amazon Canada

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition

Burgundy book cover with wheat in background and the title: Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Yellow book with a photo of people sitting around a table and the title: Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

 

Food Chemistry

Molecular Biological and Immunological
Techniques and Applications for Food Chemists

                              White book cover with hexagons and the title: Molecular Biological and Immunological Techniques

    Fennema's Food Chemistry   

                                       Black book cover with fruit and the title: Fennema's Food Chemistry          

Nutritional Epidemiology / Public Health and Nutrition

                       Nutritional Epidemiology

                   Green book cover with 20 squares alternating between faces and food items and the title: Nutritional Epidemiology                         

Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease       

         Navy book cover with avocado, lettuce and other foods along the left side and the title: Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease      

Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health

White and green cover with silhouettes of bodies and the title: Epidemiology in Public Health          

 

Holistic Nutrition

Indigenous Peoples' Food Systems: The Many Dimensions of Culture, Diversity and Environment for Nutrition and Health

  Black book cover with outdoor photo and image in ground, and title: Indigenous Peoples' Food Systems

Connecting Indian Wisdom and Western Science: Plant Usage for Nutrition and Health                                          

         Green book cover with leaves and fruit and title:Connecting Indian Wisdom and Western Science

Doing Nutrition Differently: Critical Approaches to Diet and Dietary Intervention                                                                                        

Grey book cover with a hanging whisk and the title: Doing Nutrition Differently: Critical Approaches to Diet and Dietary Intervention           

 

International and Community Nutrition

Decolonizing the Diet: Nutrition, Immunity, and the Warning from Early America

              Green book cover with image of people dressed in white and the title: Decolonizing the Diet: Nutrition, Immunity and the Warning from Early America

Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging


     Orange book cover with the title: Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging                                                                            

Community Nutrition for Developing Countries
 

       Book cover with hands holding grains and the title: Community Nutrition for Developing Countries                                                                         

 

eBook Collections