Research Guides: ECO352H5: Special Topics in Economics: The Financial Crisis and the Actions of the Central Banks: Suggested Resources

References Sources

Reference sources can help you to:

find overviews or surveys of your assigned topic,
help you understand how your topic connects with others,
generate keywords and search terms to use in your research,
locate additional references for further research.

Using reference sources BEFORE you begin a search for articles can often save you time and effort!

What follows is a list of the reference sources most likely to be useful to you. Please email Catherine MacGregor, Economics Liaison Librarian, for advice on other references sources if you are not finding useful information from those listed below.

The Oxford Handbook of Banking by Allen N. Berger (Editor); Philip Molyneux (Editor); John O. S. Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198824633
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Banking, Third Edition provides an overview and analysis of developments and research in this rapidly evolving field. Aimed at graduate students of economics, banking, and finance; academics; practitioners; regulators; and policy makers, it strikes a balance betweenabstract theory, empirical analysis, and practitioner and policy-related material.Split into five distinct parts The Oxford Handbook of Banking is a one-stop source of relevant research in banking. It examines the theory of banking, bank operations and performance, regulatory and policy perspectives, macroeconomic perspectives in banking, and international differences in bankingstructures and environments. Taking a global perspective it examines banking systems in the United States, China, Japan, Australia and New Zealand, Africa, the European Union, transition countries of Europe, and Latin America. Thematic issues covered include financial innovation and technologicalchange; consumer and mortgage lending; Islamic banking; and how banks influence real economic activity.Fully revised and now including brand new chapters on a range of geographical regions, bank bailouts and bail-ins, and behavioral economics amongst many other topics, this third edition of The Oxford Handbook of Banking provides readers with insights to seminal and contemporary research in bankingand an opportunity to learn about the diversity of financial systems around the world.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Publication Date: 2018
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world's most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet.

Scholarly Journal Article Databases

Scholarly journal article databases may yield better results than a search of the Web using a search engine because they offer:

powerful tagging and filtering capabilities
historical coverage rarely available through a search engine
full-text of articles that may be locked behind a paywall if discovered using a search engine
sources that are effectively 'invisible' to search engines as they crawl and index the Web.

What follows is a list of the scholarly journal article databases most likely to be useful to you. Please email Catherine MacGregor, Finance Learning Centre & Liaison Librarian, for advice on other databases or research strategies if you are not finding useful information from those listed below.

Best Bets

EconLit
EconLit is a comprehensive database of economics publications, including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and book reviews. Topics include: Capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, and environmental economics.
EconPapers
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of online economics working papers and journal articles. RePEc is a distributed data set resident in over 1100 archives operated by research organizations, academic departments, and publishers. The majority of the full-text files are freely available, but some (typically journal articles) require you to access this database via the UofT Libraries website.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Coverage: 1951-current
IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, selected book chapters, and book reviews dating back to 1951. The database covers international material and incorporate over 100 languages and countries. Topics include: agriculture, business, demography, economics, finance, geography, globalization, history, human behaviour, industrial relations, international relations, policy studies, public administration, social sciences, statistics, and urban and rural studies.

Other Databases by Alphabetical Order

ABI/INFORM Collection
Coverage: 1971-current
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like The Wall Street Journal.
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Global is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market, offering the latest business and financial information. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, including scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, working papers, business cases and global and trade news. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is an essential research database for peer-reviewed, full-text business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. In addition to peer-reviewed, full-text business journals, Business Source Premier includes case studies, company profiles, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analyses. For company reports and SWOT analyses, see the "Company Profiles" tab at the top.
Note: Business Source Premier is the only UofT Libraries database which gives access to Harvard Business Review articles.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. It features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
CEIC China Premium Database
The CEIC China Premium Database is a Chinese statistical database which provides more than 230,000 time series of macroeconomic and industry data at national, provincial and city level. Topics include national account, government and public finance, labor market, consumer good market, foreign trade, money and banking, investment, real estate, automobile and lots more. Time series can be exported in Excel format.
*Time series including data on the Coronavirus outbreak are available and updated daily.
Digital National Security Archive
Coverage: 1945-present
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
The EIU provides in-depth country, risk, and industry analysis across 200 countries worldwide. The research and data included provides detailed coverage of political, economic, and commercial developments worldwide.
Europa World
The Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. The Europa World Year Book was first published in 1926 and provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. It also includes information on over 1700 international organizations.
Factiva
Factiva is a global news database of nearly 33 000 premium sources, including licensed publications, influential websites, blogs, images, and videos from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Factiva provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insights and global perspective on business issues and current events, especially with regards to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets. It includes: national, international, and regional newspapers (current content and archives) such as The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, El Pais, The Financial Times, and The Gardian; magazines and trade publications such as Forbes and Newsweek; Newswires such as AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones; TV and radio podcasts from the BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, and Fox; and photo agencies such as Reuters and Knight Ridder.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript, and printed materials source from over 20 key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world.
Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data provides access to historical stocks, commodities, and other financial time-series, as well as complete information on Consumer Prices, Wholesale Prices, Monetary Aggregates, Production, and other measures of the economy for 200 countries. The database distinguishes itself from other data providers in extending data series further back than any other source. Data can be downloaded in .xls or .csv formats, or graphed in-browser.

Account Required: You will need to create a free account using your @utoronto.ca email address in order to use this database.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer, and widely-recognized 'father' of Motivational Research.
PAIS Index
PAIS Index was established in 1914 for the purpose of chronicling the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. The PAIS Index database contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. It includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world and is updated quarterly with over 17 000 current records added each year. In addition to Englosh, some materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and more languages. PAIS Index provides a unique perspective on the 20th century's most important publica and social policies, such as prohibition suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, the Vietnam War, and Watergate.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Policy File Index
Coverage: 1990-current
Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. It provides access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
RePEc
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and software components.
Scholars Portal Journals
Scholars Portal Journals is a repository of over 50 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline, including business and management.