Research Guides: ECO352H5: Special Topics in Economics: The Financial Crisis and the Actions of the Central Banks: Citation

Citation Tips

Even if you paraphrase market research findings, or rework data or statistics that were obtained elsewhere into a new chart or visualization, these need to be cited and referenced in the same way you would use for an exact, word-for-word quote, or 'clip' of a chart or visualization.
Take advantage of the functionality found in many library databases that automatically generates citations or reference lists from your search results. If you can't see this option, check the help files. However, always check to make sure that these are indeed formatted correctly for the style you are using - these tools are not always reliable.
No matter what reference style you use, ensure you include the same information in the same order for each citation and reference you make.

APA Style Blog
Updated on a regular basis, the APA Style blog is an excellent resource for more complex citation-related queries or for scenarios that may not be addressed in the Purdue OWL website. Can be browsed by categories, e.g. 'Databases', 'Interviews', or searched by keyword.
Citing Sources / Create Your Bibliography
A UTL LibGuide that walks users through the basics of why, when and how to cite.
Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide, 6th ed.
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides authoritative guidance and examples for APA Style formatting and citations. Use this as your starting point for citation-related questions.
Western Libraries: C.B. 'Bud' Johnston Library: Citing Business Sources: Commonly Used Business Style Guides
Provides specific examples of citations (in-paper and bibliographies/list of references) of sources that commonly used by business students, e.g. investment research reports, annual reports, business cases, and business databases. It includes examples for both the Chicago Manual of Style and APA Style.
York University: Business Citation Guide
Another excellent guide with sample citations from common databases and sources used in business research.