Find Articles
Health science databases.
- MEDLINEPremier database for biomedical journal articles. Interface allows for expert searching (e.g. use of MeSH) when conducting systematic reviews, scoping reviews, etc. Covers approx. 4000 journals; international in scope.
- PubMedProvides free access to MEDLINE. Includes additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE
- EMBASELarge biomedical database with emphasis on drug research and pharmacology; good coverage of alternative therapies, occupational therapy and physical thaerapy. Covers approx. 4000 journals (1200 which are not in MEDLINE); international in scope.
- CochraneSystematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions. Also contains the Cochrane Central Register for Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
- HealthSTARArticles about health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
- PsycInfoMajor database for scholarly literature in psychology and behavioural sciences. Covers approx. 1800 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations
- BIOSISLarge biomedical database which also covers agricultural sciences, botany, biotechnology, zoology, and biology in the broadest sense. Covers thousands of journals as well as conference proceedings. Good for supplementing a search that deals with a plant or animal organisms (e.g. bedbugs).
- More article databasesFull list of all journal article databases for medicine.
Comments (0)
Find citation info
In addition to citation metrics, these database can be used for broad multidisciplinary journal article searches.
- Web of ScienceFind Times Cited info, h-index of authors and departments. Citation data back to 1945.
- ScopusCitation tracking begins with 1996 publications. Calculates h-index for individual researchers.
Clinical EBM resources
- UpToDateClinical information resource that provides the information in a concise format with references to clinical trials.
UpToDate requires that when you connect, we send them a user ID code for you that allows UpToDate to uniquely, but anonymously, identify you. This allows UpToDate to maintain a customized user profile for you. - ACP PierDecision-support tool designed for rapid point-of-care information for clinicians. Produced by the American College of Physicians.
- Clinical EvidenceBottom-line practice information with evidence for over 250 common diseases and conditions. Incorporates the popular BMJ Updates.
Medical Textbooks
- Harrison's OnlineHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, drug monographs, diagnosis tool, Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, and patient education information.
- Books@OvidOver 1000 fulltext textbooks - classic and groundbreaking titles in a wide range of subject areas - including the world's largest online collection of core clinical texts.
- 5 Minute Clinical ConsultDiagnosis, treatment, and follow-up of more than 1,000 medical conditions. Text, full-color images, and videos are searchable.
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Anatomy
- Primal Pictures3D human anatomy software for teaching, learning and presenting, you can explore anatomical relationships within the human body, add/remove layers and rotate the model to get the view you need. Also known as 'Anatomy.tv'
Examination & Assessment
- Physical Examination & Health Assessment.Full-motion video on how to conduct physical exams, with developmental and cultural considerations.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationPhysical assessment techniques using state-of-the-art equipment in modern settings for help in teaching and refining physical examination skills using the Bates' method. Must use Internet Explorer.


Loading...
