Virtual Reality in the Classroom

The University of Toronto Libraries has an extensive collection of books and eBooks on virtual reality and virtual reality education. Here are a few suggested readings:

• Augmented Education by Kieron Sheehy, Rebecca Ferguson, Gill Clough 

  Call Number: Stacks LB1044.87 S54 2014 (Inforum)

  ISBN: 9781137342812

  Publication Date: 2014

  Available online and in print

   

   
• Being Really Virtual by Frank Steinicke 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9783319430768

  Publication Date: 2016

   

   

   
• Educational Gameplay and Simulation Evironments: Case Studies and Lessons Learned by David Kaufman, Louise Sauve 

  Call Number: Stacks 371.397 E24 (OISE Library)

  ISBN: 1615207317

  Publication Date: 2010

  Available online and in print
• Emerging Tools and Applications of Virtual Reality in Education by Dong Hwa Choi, Amber Dailey-Hebert, Judi Simmons Estes 

  Call Number: Stacks 371.33468 E535 (OISE Library)

  ISBN: 9781466698376

  Publication Date: 2016

  Available online and in print
• Immersive Environments, Augmented Realities, and Virtual Worlds by Steven D'agustino 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781466626706

  Publication Date: 2012

   

   
• Increasing Student Engagement and Retention Using Immersive Interfaces by Charles Wankel, Patrick Blessinger 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 1781902402

  Publication Date: 2012

   

   
• Knowledge-Based Virtual Education by Claude Ghaoui, Mitu Jain, Vivek Bannore, Lakhmi C. Jain 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9783642064081

  Publication Date: 2010

   

   

   
• Virtual Literacies: Interactive spaces for children and young people by Guy Merchant, Julia Gillen, Jackie Marsh, Julia Davies 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9780415899604

  Publication Date: 2012

   

   
• Virtual Realities by Guido Brunnett, Sabine Coquillart, Robert van Liere, Gregory Welch, Libor Vása 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9783319170428

  Publication Date: 2015

   

   

   
• Virtual Reality Headsets - a Theoretical and Pragmatic Approach by Philippe Fuchs 

  Call Number: Online

  ISBN: 9781138632356

  Publication Date: 2017

• Expeditions Help: Add Expeditions to Your Lessons

Provides additional supporting resources to help educators implement Google Expeditions into classroom lesson plans

• Google for Education 

Offers resources for educators looking to explore the benefits of Google Expeditions through The Google for Education Training Center

• TES Global 

Offers sample Google Expeditions lesson plans that have been developed by teachers

• Veactive Library

Offers a library of science and mathematics VR lesson plans, searchable by grade or subject

• Virtual Reality for Education Resource Guide 

Provides links to helpful resources related to virtual field trips, virtual reality apps, online virtual reality creation tools, and more

• zSpace Edu

Provides VR content and lesson places on STEM subjects, and online courses for professional development

• Ancient Rome | Khan Academy & Rome Reborn
• Apollo 11 VR | Immersive VREducation
• Coral Bleaching and Ocean Acidification (Gr. 12 Marine Biology) | TES
• Dreams of Dali in Virtual Reality | Dali Museum
• Explore the Solar System in 360 | CrashCourse
• Stereograms | New York Public Library
• The Stanford Ocean Acidification Experience | Stanford University
• Titanic VR | Immersive VREducation
• Virtual World Heritage Lab | Uffizi Gallery
• Visit Mars | Titans of Space VR

VR in the News

• RoadToVR
• UploadVR
• VRCircle
• Voices of VR Podcast
• Reverend VR

VR Blogs and Magazines

• Google VR blog
• VIVE Blog
• Makezine.com
• Virtual Reality Pop
• The Verge
• Gizmodo

There are many different places to search for virtual reality materials and resources including print and online books available through the OISE/University of Toronto Libraries, licensed education databases and online resources, and openly available databases and websites. 

Library Books and eBooks

To find books and eBooks available at the OISE Library and the University of Toronto Libraries:

1. Select “Books” in the drop-down menu
2. Type “virtual reality” (or "augmented reality" or "mixed reality") in the catalogue search bar
3. On the left panel of the screen, select OISE in the “Library” for print materials or select Online
4. Narrow your search using the Subjects filter

Journal Articles and Online Resources

To find journal articles and other online resources:

1. Search  key terms such as "virtual reality", "virtual reality headset", "virtuality", "multimedia", "hypermedia", "augmented reality", "360-degree" in the UTL Catalogue
2. Use limits to filter by subject, year, etc.

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings are compilations of papers or talks presented at conference, symposia, or workshops on current research. This may or may not eventually be published in a journal. Note not every event will publish materials presented and some may include poster sessions and extended abstracts. You can find conference proceedings in the UTL Library Catalogue and other catalogues, databases, and websites and search engines. For more information on searching conference proceedings, please visit this research guide.