Resources for Dentistry Graduate Students

Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars. "Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book." It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer

Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones, which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes. This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in scientific publishing. Junior medical scientists (independent of specialty), experienced scientists who wish to venture as authors, reviewers, and even editorial personnel can refer to the book time and again.

The ability to demonstrate that a specific health care profession provides valuable and effective services that meet society's health needs is a major objective for all health care academicians and researchers. Such skills are critical to ensure service reimbursement from an increasingly small pool of health care dollars. Demonstrating clinical effectiveness depends on the reporting of written research results through journal publication so that the health care community and larger society will be able to access and read evidence supporting health care services.   Today, several clinical reporting standard guidelines have been created by researchers to enhance the ability of readers to evaluate the quality and value of studies. Journal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication. Health care researchers must begin using these reporting standards in order to write manuscripts that are both correctly formatted and transparently convey all critical study strengths and limitations. Educators must teach these reporting standards to students who must evaluate research reports as consumers and possible future contributors to the literature through their own writing.   Journal Article Writing and Publication by Dr. Sharon A. Gutman (a former editor of the American Journal of Occupational Therapy) provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports. A section is devoted to helping authors understand the rules governing the reporting of statistical data in text and tables. Separate sections help authors understand the manuscript preparation and submission process, the revision process, and the etiquette guiding communication with editors and reviewers. Guidelines for the preparation of scholarly discussion papers and editorials are also provided.   Journal Article Writing and Publication also features a section that aims to help doctoral students and newly minted faculty turn academic work and dissertations into publishable journal articles. Suggestions are provided to help clinicians turn clinical data into research databases that could serve as the foundation for pilot studies. Finally, information is provided to help authors better understand the ethical considerations of publication including plagiarism, dual submissions, inappropriate authorship, copyright, and conflict of interest.    

Available from Gerstein Science Library and U of T at Scarborough.
This fourth edition of Alan E. Kazdin's classic text is, like its predecessors, intended to help students and professionals alike master a wide range of methodological approaches to examining clinical issues and phenomena. The goal is to help the reader design, conduct, recognize, and appreciate high quality research, and recognize the implications of crucial decisions about methodology and design. Articles cover a comprehensive array of topics, including experimental design; the principles, procedures, and practices that govern research; assessment of study constructs and their interrelationships; potential sources of artifact and bias, methods of data analysis and interpretation; ethical issues; and the nuts and bolts of writing research articles and getting published. With 26 new articles and significantly revised and expanded introductory material, this revamped edition features scholarly contributions that explicate core concepts, survey contemporary issues in research, and examine ethical responsibilities toward both research participants and science itself. New additions include articles on translational and qualitative research, advances in data collection methods such as Amazon's Mechanical Turk service and obtaining client feedback in psychotherapy, advances in mathematical and statistical modeling including single-case interventions, and new chapters examining questionable research practices and fraud.

Publishing Your Medical Research is the second edition of the award-winning book that provides practical information on how to write a publishable paper. This edition includes additional details to help medical researchers succeed in the competitive "publish or perish" world. Using a direct and highly informative style, it does more than help you write a paper; it presents the technical information, invaluable modern advice, and practical tips you need to get your paper accepted for publication. A singular source for the beginning and experienced researcher alike, Publishing Your Medical Research is a must for any physician, fellow, resident, medical scientist, graduate student, or biostatistician seeking to be published. Praise for Publishing Your Medical Research "This book is an excellent and well-documented guide to the design of clinical trials, the analysis of data, and the construction of a high-quality manuscript. Both the novice and the expert will derive many helpful suggestions from its content." Gertrude B. Elion, D.Sc. Nobel Laureate in Medicine "Where medical school lacks, this book provides. In one volume, Dan Byrne gathers essential information for all authors interested in publishing biomedical papers." Robert Jacoby Former Editor, American Medical Writers Association Journal Book Awards: American Medical Writers Association: Will Solimene Award, Outstanding quality - Print media Ralph A. Deterling Award, Distinction in Medical Communication Morris Fishbein Award, Honorable mention for excellence in medical communication for health professionals Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

Electronic book.
A comprehensive introduction to behavioral and social science research methods in the health sciences Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences is designed to develop and facilitate the ability to conduct research and understand the practical value of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting behavioral and social science research findings in the health science and medical fields. The book provides complete coverage of the process behind these research methods, including information-gathering, decision formation, and results presentation. Examining the application of behavioral and social science research methodologies within the health sciences, the book focuses on implementing and developing relevant research questions, collecting and managing data, and communicating various research perspectives. An essential book for readers looking to possess an understanding of all aspects of conducting research in the health science field, Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences features: Various research designs that are appropriate for use in the health sciences, including single-participant, multi-group, longitudinal, correlational, and experimental designs Step-by-step coverage of single-factor and multifactor studies as well as single-subject and nonexperimental methods Accessible chapter explanations, real-world examples, and numerous illustrations throughout Guidance regarding how to write about research within the formatting styles of the American Medical Association and the American Psychological Association The book is an excellent educational resource for healthcare and health service practitioners and researchers who are interested in conducting and understanding behavioral and social science research done within the health sciences arena. The book is also a useful resource for students taking courses in the fields of medicine, public health, epidemiology, biostatistics, and the health sciences.

Notable for its use of real document examples drawn from actual healthcare settings, in addition to its central section’s extended focus on narrative medicine and new media writing, Healthcare Writing: A Practical Guide to Professional Success provides a wide-ranging, much-needed contemporary perspective on the modes and contexts of writing most pertinent to today’s healthcare professionals. Aimed at students enrolled in university- or college-level healthcare programs, healthcare communication specialists, as well as at current clinical practitioners seeking a portable reference and guide, this book combines a detailed discussion of approaches to key healthcare document types—both professional and academic—with a thorough but accessible overview of essential points of grammar, punctuation, and style.

This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.

Research Writing in Dentistry provides you with a uniquely practical guide to selecting, designing, and writing up a research project. Of particular use to the dental student, both pre- and post-doctoral, this is a no-nonsense guide that presents concrete advice and information that can be absorbed quickly and effectively. By asking simple questions, this useful resource enables you to develop, analyze and present a program of research work. It begins with the basic principles of research: what it is and how to select a topic and plan a program. It then moves on to discuss study design, methods and materials, presenting results and undertaking a literature review.  It concludes with a section on basic statistics and analysis. Precepts and guidance are illustrated throughout with examples from dentistry.

A document may be based on accurate medical and scientific information, follow guidelines precisely, and be well written in clear and correct language, but may still fail to achieve its objectives. The strategic approach described in this book will help you to turn good medical and scientific writing into successful writing. It describes clearly and concisely how to identify the target audience and the desired outcome, and how to construct key messages for a wide spectrum of documents. Irrespective of your level of expertise and your seniority in the pharmaceutical, regulatory, or academic environment, this book is an essential addition to your supporting library. The authors share with you many years of combined experience in the pharmaceutical and academic environment and in the writing of successful outcome-driven documents.

There are many resources on grant writing in science, technology and medicine, but most do not provide the practical advice needed to write the narratives of grant proposals. Designed to help novice and experienced investigators write compelling narratives and acquire research funding, this is a detailed guide to the content, organisation, layout, phrasing, and scientific argumentation of narratives. The authors draw on more than twenty years of research and analysis of grant proposals, having worked extensively with investigators at different levels, from pre-doctoral students to senior scientists. They have used this experience to design a framework for scientific writing that you can apply directly to narratives. The guidelines and advice offered are applicable across many funding agencies, including the NIH and NSF. Featuring many real-life examples, the book covers a range of topics, from organisational alternatives to best practices in grammar and editing, overview visuals, and working with contributors.

This new book is a 'what and how to' guide to writing for successful scholarly publication in the emerging fields of healthcare improvement and patient safety. While there are many useful authors' aids for scholarly biomedical publication, none focuses explicitly on these relatively new fields. It offers practical advice that includes preparation and organization of a scholarly healthcare improvement manuscript, where to submit it to find the most likely interested editor and journal, how to take full advantage of coauthors' working together effectively, and strategies for authors to reach a broader health professions readership.