Skip to main content

Research Guides

Political Science

Get started with key print and online resources in political science.

NGO and IGO search engines

Custom NGO search engine (Stanford)

  • Custom search engine that streamlines results by pulling information from only NGO website
  • NGO sites chosen based on consultative status with the UN's Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University's NGO research guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)

IGO search engine (Union of International Associations)

IGO search engine (Indiana University, Bloomington)

  • An experimental web search engine useful for finding information from IGOs such as the United Nations, World Bank, IMF (International Monetary Fund), and related organizations

IGO guide

"This guide will help you search for information produced by international governmental organizations (IGOs).

IGOs are organizations of member states that have signed a treaty or charter. They have a geographic or subject focus."

Indexes to articles and other resources

PAIS International  1914+

  • Indexes articles from scholarly journals and magazines, such as the Atlantic, Economist, Commentary, Policy Review and Public Interest
  • Indexes books, government and other reports and statistical compilations addressing important political, economic and social issues
  • Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, some in languages other than English

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

  • Source for theory and research in international affairs
  • Indexes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs
  • Also includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts
  • Note: no capacity for Boolean searches

PolicyFile

  • Unique resource for U.S. public policy research
  • Accesses information from over 300 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities
  • Well-known contributors include: the Brookings Institution, Cato Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, RAND Corporation, World Bank

Major web links

IPSAportal: an official publication of the International Political Science Association 

  • Top 300 websites for Political Science

Political Resources on the Net 

  • Listings of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world

 Research Guide: NGOs (University of California at Berkeley) 

  • An excellent guide organized in three sections: International Guides & Directories; Regional Guides & Directories; and NGOs and the United Nations.
  • Site also includes an NGO custom search engine, developed by Indiana University and Stanford
  • Site searches NGOs with consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council, sites listed on the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, the Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)

Research Guide: NGOs (Duke University)

  • Provides a list of selected NGOs by subject (Development, Environmentally Sustainable Development, Human Rights, Statistical Data Sources and Women in Development) and by region (Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America and Transnational)
  • See also its Table of Contents (on the right) for other information provided
  • Note: items identified as being at “Duke only” are also available at the University of Toronto Libraries with most links provided in this guide

Associations Canada 

 Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations 

  • Provides brief directory information
  • Included with other directories in "Gale's Ready Reference Shelf"

Europa World Plus 

  • An authoritative source which provides brief information on over 1900 international organizations

International Organizations: Web Resources 

  • Provided by DMGIS, U of T Libraries

Selected links to international organizations (via Union of International Associations) 

  • From the Yearbook of International Organizations
  • Most of the information is free access, but some information requires subscription

OECD iLibrary

  • Offers online access to OECD statistical databases, books, periodicals, reports, etc.

Libguide: United Nations Research Resources

  • A guide to key resources available for researching the activities and documents of the United Nations
  • Compiled by Sherry Smugler, Robarts Reference

AccessUN

  • Comprehensive index to United Nations documents and publications from 1946 onwards, including UN periodical articles and treaties listed in UN Treaty Series (University of Toronto only)
  • Note: AccessUN is a better search engine than the ODS

Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)

  • Provides full-text access to most UN parliamentary documents from 1993 onwards
  • To locate items found via AccessUN's search engine, search the ODS under the exact document number

Think Tank Repository, 2013+

  • Repository of think tank publications on EU affairs
  • Searchable by title, subject, abstract and other metadata 
  • The repository references papers published from early 2013 onwards